Posted by: Kathy | August 11, 2014

SLAP’D: The Next Step

About 3 weeks after my mom died, I started a blog on my husband’s domain as a way of dealing with all the sadness and feelings I couldn’t understand. Six months later, I moved my blog to WordPress to bring more exposure to my blog. It was then that I slowly began to connect with others who had lost a loved one. That was over 5 years ago, and during that time I have changed in many ways with the help of other people I have met through this site.

I don’t post as much as I used to, but I have no intentions of taking down my blog. It is my heart and soul. A tribute to my mom.

A few weeks ago I spoke with Genevieve Liu, an amazing young woman who lost her dad on August 5, 2012. Donald Liu saved the lives of two young boys who were drowning in Lake Michigan, but, sadly, he got caught in a riptide and died. Genevieve took her feelings of pain and loss and started the website SLAP’D (Surviving Life After A Parent Dies), a community for teens and young adults who have lost a parent. She wants other teens who have lost a parent to know that they are not alone and to have a place where they can connect with others and also find information and support. Please check out the About page for more information on SLAP’D.

Genevieve invited me to become a blogger on her site. I posted my first blog on SLAP’D yesterday.

I am excited to be a part of this website. For me, this is the next step in my blogging journey. I hope to be able to help teens who have lost a parent through my posts on SLAP’D. Please take a moment to check out SLAP’D and my first blog on this site.

Responses

  1. How extremely wonderful is the blogging world. Reaching out to others becomes a viable and effective activity. Thank you for the link to SLAP’D.

    • Six years ago I had no idea what blogging was, but it literally saved my life by connecting me with others who understood what I was going through after my mom died. Thank you for always coming back to my site. Take care.

  2. That’s great Kathy! Funny how the world works, and how healing and connecting online forums and blogs can be. Feeling very happy for you x

    • Thank you. I am so grateful to be part of this and to hopefully help others. We are so connected electronically now, but it connects us to people we would have never “met” before. For that, I am grateful. Take care

  3. Good morning Kathy,

    Firstly I’d like to start by thanking The Lord that you have been able to be so open about the death of your mother and allow us to be apart of your journey.
    I am 23 and lost my mother to cancer in 2012 after a very short 7 month battle, she was just 48. Reading your blog has been absolutely a breath of fresh air to read, knowing that everything I was feeling was normal and that I wasn’t alone and in a way prepared me for what other feelings and emotions where to be expected in the future.
    Keep writing, you’re absolutely beautiful. Your mumma would be so proud. You have helped so many people.
    Keep smiling xxx

    • Hi Kirt: First, thanks for your kind words. The openness that I have been able to get to with this blog regarding my feelings of loss and grief has helped me to heal, and I believe helped others too. I write from the heart. If something is weighing on my heart, I write.

      I am so sorry you lost your mom at such a young age, for both of you. Please check out SLAP’D, as that site is for people your age. And I am here to help too. I’m glad you’ve found my blog helpful, and yes, I will keep writing. Take care.

  4. You are such a WONDERFUL person. Kathy!  So glad that you are now able to reach many more people and help them through their loss.

    Love You My Friend!

    Claudia

    • Thank you my friend. I always appreciate your support. Love you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers

