Posted by: Kathy | May 26, 2009

Three Simple Words

You can usually tell if someone loves you, by the way they speak to you, a look, a touch, a gesture, although it’s always nice to hear the words. I knew that my parents loved me as a child, it was something I could feel. But we weren’t a family who said these words out loud to each other or openly showed affection for one another. The feelings were there, they just weren’t routinely expressed.

Things changed for me when I had my son. From the time he was born I always told him that I loved him. I remember the first time he said I love you to me and I knew that he understood what he was saying, it melted my heart. My husband and I always say “I love you” each time one of us of walks out the door, every time we end a phone call, and before we go to bed at night. We say the same to our kids. For us it’s a common thing and when we don’t do it, things just don’t feel right.

I think my parents noticed that I always told my son that I loved him when he’d stay at their house for overnight visits. And he started saying it to them. The sad thing is that I never said it to my mom until she was diagnosed with cancer. I remember one day shortly after her diagnosis tearfully saying to her “I love you” and she said “I know you do” and told me that she loved me too. I started saying it to my dad as well. It was a big change for our family and hard for me to say at first, but became a little easier each time I did, and then became a common thing.

I take comfort in the fact that my mom knew how much I loved her when she died. I still tell her that I love her, hoping that she hears me.

Responses

  1. I loved reading this Kathy and it’s exactly what I do to my children and Grandchildren. Thanks for sharing a part of you xxx


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

