Posted by: Kathy | June 7, 2009

Imprint on My Heart

It’s been almost 7 months since my mom left us. She’s been on my mind a lot lately, between Mother’s Day, the anniversary of her death, and my birthday. I miss her. My mom gave so much of herself to others and I’ve been thinking about the impact she had on me.

My mom really helped me to realize the importance of family and how much it means to have a family. Because of my mom, I’ve opened my heart more to my family and try to be a better wife, mother, and daughter. I try to let my love come through in my words and actions. 

My mom put a little bit of herself into everything she did to make things just a bit more special for others. As time passes, I’m realizing just how special that “little bit” of herself was, and how much I miss these little things. I also wish I had given more of myself to my mom when she was alive. 

My mom was a good person – kind, loving, caring, and genuine. I miss the sound of her voice, seeing her smile, hearing her laugh, watching her as she played with the kids. I know my son misses her too. 

Six months have passed since my mom left us, and things have gotten a little easier. I’m at peace with her death because I know she’s at peace, and that her death, when it occurred, was God’s plan. I know my mom would want us to go on with our lives and be happy. But I still miss her, and sometimes out of the blue, the pain of her loss engulfs me. My mom’s love for me left an imprint on my heart, and it’s her love that I will share with others, especially her grandkids.

I love you, Mom – yesterday, today, always.

Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

