Posted by: Kathy | August 17, 2009

Unexpected Package

I received a package in the mail today, something I wasn’t expecting. My friend had put her return address on the outside of the envelope, so I knew who it was from but had no idea why she’d be sending me something in the mail. Inside the brown envelope were a card and a box. I opened the card first and as I read her words, tears came to my eyes, and I realized before I opened the box what was inside.

I had last seen my friend a few weeks ago at a jewelry party. She’s a consultant and I’ve been to several of her parties. After the demonstration, I had a few minutes to talk to her. We talked about many things, mainly our kids and my mom. I told her how I really wanted to have a jewelry party, but it was something I would have done with my mom. She suggested that I have a jewelry party in my mom’s memory, and the more I thought about the idea, the more I knew it was something I wanted to do. I’m planning to have the party in November, a few days before the one year anniversary of her death. Of course, tears came to my eyes as I thought about my mom and how much I missed her.

In her card, my friend said that she’d been thinking about me since that show and she hoped the enclosed gift would make me smile as I remember my mom’s last birthday. As soon as I read this I knew what was in the box. Last year, I attended a jewerly party right before my mom’s birthday. Usually the order is placed and it may take a week or two for the jewelry to come in. I picked out a necklace and matching bracelet for my mom and asked if I could take the display pieces because I wanted to be able to give them to my mom on her birthday, which I did. My mom loved her gift and she was actually buried wearing that necklace and bracelet. My last gift to her.

My friend told me that the company recently retired this set – it was called Katey. These pieces will no longer be made, which makes the gift for my mom even more special. So you may have guessed what was in the box I received today. It was the necklace from the Katey set, and my friend’s necklace from her personal collection. I am so touched by my friend’s thoughtfulness, the words she wrote in her card, and the precious gift she gave to me. Every time I look at the necklace I will think of my mom and the day we spent together for her birthday. It was one of the best days I ever shared with my mom. Thank you, Deborah, for giving this gift to me.

Responses

  1. This is BEAUTIFUL and shows that there still are MANY wonderful & caring people in this world.

    thank you SO much for sharing!

    Claudia


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

