Posted by: Kathy | September 16, 2009

Walking for a Cure

When my mom died from pancreatic cancer, one of my goals in life became to raise awareness of this horrible disease so that others may not have to suffer like my mom did. A diagnosis of pancreatic cancer has been called a death sentence since many patients don’t live a year following diagnosis. Pancreatic cancer is a silent disease, with the majority of patients receiving a diagnosis when the disease is more advanced and may have metastasized to other areas. As I said on my page about pancreatic cancer, not a lot of money is being spent on the treatment of pancreatic cancer compared with other cancer types.

On September 27th, my dad, my son, and I are walking in memory of my mom for the Lustgarten Foundation to raise money for pancreatic cancer, and I am looking for sponsors. I know everyone supports various causes, but if you’d like to sponsor me on my walk or help to raise money for pancreatic cancer research, it would be deeply appreciated. I couldn’t save my mom, but with more research, maybe others can be saved or live longer with a better quality of life.

The Lustgarten Foundation accepts online donations at: https://www.lustgarten.org/SSLPage.aspx?pid=849

In the Tribute Information area on the webpage, I would appreciate it if you could indicate that the donation is in Memory of Marcia Harman.

From the bottom of my heart, I thank you for your support.

~ Kathy

Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

