Posted by: Kathy | November 26, 2009

I Am Thankful For…

Many of my posts have focused on loss and the grief I’ve been dealing with since my mom died. But there are things that I am thankful for, all of which happened after she was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer, and today I’d like to focus on them.

I am thankful…

  • For the 349 days I had with my mom after she was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer, and I am grateful that the majority of those days were good ones for her.
  • That my mom’s illness opened the door that allowed us as a family to begin openly expressing our love for one another.
  • That my mom’s illness forced me to really grow up and step into my role as a responsible and caring daughter.
  • That my mom was able to hear her granddaughter call her Grandmom and tell her grandmom that she loved her.
  • That my mom knew her grandson had achieved the biggest accomplishment of his life so far by getting his black belt in TaeKwonDo.
  • For the days my mom spent playing with the kids and just being a grandmom to them.
  • That my mom was able to do the corn maze one more time, something that had become a yearly family outing and sort of a tradition.
  • For the caring, support, and love my parents received from so many friends.
  • For the loving relationship my parents shared. Their devotion to one another stood the test of illness and death and is still evident today.
  • That I was able to spend a mother-daughter day with my mom before she died. We didn’t have many of those and this day was truly special for both of us.
  • That my mom knew how much I loved her when she died.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

