Posted by: Kathy | September 20, 2010

2010 Pancreatic Cancer Research Walk

This coming Sunday, I am participating with my husband, kids, and father in the 2nd Annual Janet F. Wendling Memorial Pancreatic Cancer Research Walk in Allentown, PA. This is the second year in a row my family will be participating in this walk and I have a feeling it will become a tradition for us.

My mom tried so hard to beat pancreatic cancer but it was just too strong, especially since her tumor could not be removed. Most of the time I felt helpless and had no idea how to help her. I watched as pancreatic cancer turned my mom into a walking skeleton and stole her life. The statistics associated with this cancer are horrible. Most people don’t live a year after diagnosis and the survival rate associated with pancreatic cancer has not changed in decades. A diagnosis of pancreatic cancer has been referred to as a death sentence. This year, almost 37,000 people will die from pancreatic cancer. For more information on pancreatic cancer, please see my facts page.

Research is the only way that better, more powerful treatments for pancreatic cancer will be found. Research is the only way that people diagnosed with pancreatic cancer can have hope of living longer after diagnosis and possibly beating this disease. But right now only 2% of federal funding goes toward pancreatic cancer research.

On Sunday, our team, In Memory of Marcia, will walk in memory of my mom and in honor of people who are fighting against this disease. For more information about the walk or to support our team, please visit our team page

I hope one day there will be treatments that can cure pancreatic cancer. This disease needs more survivors.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

