Posted by: Kathy | February 28, 2011

Finally…A Dream

I typically don’t remember my dreams. Usually I only remember flashes of crazy images. Although I think about my mom every day, I never dream about her. Since she died, I’ve had four dreams about my mom. I want to dream about her because it really is the only way I can “see” my mom. This past Saturday morning, I dreamt of my mom and we were together once again.

In this dream, I was in the kitchen of a church cleaning out some of my stuff. The space was dimly lit and cramped, and there were other people with me, although I didn’t recognize them from real life. When I left, I didn’t have a ride home and was going to walk. A school bus pulled up and the driver asked if I needed a ride. I got on. I talked to the driver for a minute about where I was going. I didn’t expect the driver to take me home. I was just going to get a ride to as close to home as possible. I was planning to ride the bus to the entrance of Interstate 95 and then walk home from there. But after a few minutes on the bus I noticed that we were closer to my parents’ house than mine, so I told the driver to drop me off near there and I would get a ride home. I got off the bus a few miles from their house. It was a warm, sunny day and I started walking. Suddenly, my mom was walking next to me. She was wearing sunglasses and a blue shirt that I now wear. We just kept walking and talked as we headed home. That’s when I woke up.

I only had a few minutes with my mom, and although it wasn’t real, it was nice to dream about her. For just a few minutes, I was with my mom again and it felt wonderful.

Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

