Posted by: Kathy | August 12, 2011

I Wish I Had a Wizard Picture

Since the release of the final Harry Potter movie, I’ve been watching the previous ones and have started reading the series again. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read these books. My mom was a fan of Harry Potter too, along with my husband. When a new book was released, we’d buy either one or two copies and then decide who would get to read the book(s) first. Usually I was the last to read the new book, since I liked to re-read all the previous books in the series first. I tend to forget things easily, just ask anyone.

I got my love of reading from my mom, who read to me each night. When I was little, I often asked her to read the same story – The House Mrs. Mouse. I knew exactly when to turn the page, since I had heard the story so many times, and my mom could probably recite the story by heart. She read stories to her grandchildren too, and my mom and Matt had some favorites. There were times when Matt asked me to read the same book over and over again until I could recite it by heart. Now my son reads to his sister at times.

There are many pictures throughout the house of our family. On the little table next to my side of the bed is a picture of my mom and grandmother, which was taken in 1999 per the date on the photograph. Directly in front of the bed, on top of the cable box, are two pictures of my parents, one taken at a dinner party and the other with Matt when he was about 18 months old.

In these pictures, my family is happy. My dear grandmother was still alive, and so was my mom. As I go to bed each night and wake up each day, they are among the first things I see. The other day, after I had finished watching a Harry Potter movie, a thought came to mind. I wish these pictures could be “wizard” pictures, in which the people would move or wave and smile, possibly showing a little more of what was going on when the picture was taken. I know, I’ve probably been watching too many Harry Potter movies. I often share pictures with my daughter, showing her times that she spent with her grandmother since she doesn’t have any real memories of her own. I don’t want either Matt or Nikki to ever forget just how much their grandmother loved them or how special they were to her. My kids gave their grandmother the will to keep living as long as she could with pancreatic cancer, and their presence always made my mom smile.

I love looking at the pictures I have of my family and remembering the time when they were taken. It would be neat if the people in these pictures could move as they do in the wizard pictures shown in Harry Potter movies. But, in the long run, a “Muggle” picture is better than no picture at all.

Responses

  1. Beautiful pictures and as usual….beautifully written.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

