Posted by: Kathy | September 17, 2011

Three Years of Birthdays

Today is my mom’s birthday. If she were still here with us, she would have been 68 years old. Yesterday, we released balloons in her memory, and the flowers at church tomorrow will be in honor of her. I wrote the following poem in honor of my mom for her birthday.

Three Years of Birthdays

Three years of birthdays
spent without you;
each one different,
but also the same.

Three years of birthdays
spent missing you,
wishing you were here
and still part of our lives.

Three years of birthdays,
thinking of you
during all the days
that fall in between. 

Three years of birthdays,
tears falling for you,
as I still feel your loss
in my life.

Three years of birthdays,
always loving you,
my one, my only
Mom.

Mom on her last birthday with her family

Happy Birthday, Mom. I love you.

Responses

  1. Hi Wendy: Thanks for your note. We released a balloon in your mom’s memory on Friday and I was thinking of you. It does get better. My next blog will be one that was inspired by your comment and the time it takes for us to heal after loss. I haven’t let go of my mom. I never will. But I’ve learned to accept that she is not coming back. It’s not an easy thing to do, and I still have bad days where I really feel her loss. Take care, Kathy

  2. My Dear Kathy, i am thinking of you. Your words are for sure reaching the heavens and reaching your mom, meanwhile they reach us all here in our hearts. We feel your loss. I marked one year without my mom, I feel worse now than I did before. I feel incapable of looking at photos, the pain is unbearable at times. I can’t let go. thinking of you, Wendy


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

