Posted by: Kathy | March 2, 2012

Never To Be Forgotten

Dear Mom:

Although more than 3 years have passed,
I still miss you today.
I wish that I could see you,
there’s so much I want to say.

I want to look in your eyes and say “I love you,”
tell you how much you meant to me,
let you how deeply I appreciated you,
and that all you were did not go unseen.

You were such a big part of my life,
more than I ever realized.
It was something I didn’t know
until after you died.

I miss the time we spent together,
everything we used to do.
I miss seeing your smiling face
and spending time talking with you.

To hear your voice again
would be such a gift.
To have 5 minutes to talk with you
is something I’d forever cherish.

You’ll never be forgotten
no matter how much time has passed,
because you meant so much to so many
that memories of you will always last.

Love,

Kathryn

Responses

  1. Hi Wendy: Of course I remember you, and I think about you, hoping you are doing ok. Even after 3 years, there are times when the realization of my mom’s loss and the pain that comes with it hits me out of the blue, leaving me in tears. My mom’s loss still hurts and always will. She was a huge part of my life, a part that no one else can fill or ever will. I understand what you’re going through. I’ve been through it and still deal with it. Things do get easier with time, the pain lessens, but there are days when the feeling of loss is very strong. Little reminders, something my kids say, the realization that my mom won’t be a part of something – all of these things can hit me at times and I long to be with my mom again. I will always believe that my mom was taken from me, from my kids, from our family way too soon. I hope things start getting easier for you. I’m here if you need someone to talk to – you can always email me. I wish you all the best. Take care and thanks for your comment. ~Kathy

  2. Kathy, I don’t know if you remember me, it’s Wendy, I’ve fallen off the earth…it’s been one year and a half since my mom passed and this past January I turned 50, and the pain and realization of this loss is almost worse. Is this something you experienced and continue to experience?
    your poem is one I and I am sure lots of people dealing with loss can relate to
    very poignant, well said. sending you warm regards and hugs, wendy

  3. Hugs to you too. ~Kathy

  4. I can totally relate to this post…..hugs from across the globe.

  5. That is so beautiful I want to cry! What a wonderful tribute to your mom!

    • Thank you. ~Kathy


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

