Posted by: Kathy | April 25, 2012

Good Anniversary

Over the past few years, I’ve written about anniversaries like the day my mom was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and the day my mom died. These days are difficult not to think about. They were huge turning points in my life. Days of sadness and disbelief. Days I will never forget. But there are also good anniversaries, like my wedding anniversary.

Today is my 5 year anniversary at work. Given the ever-changing world of continuing medical education, I’m glad to still be at the same job after 5 years. I like what I do and where I work. I think back to 5 years ago and realize how different things were. My mom was still with us. She was healthy, happy, and so alive. About 7 months after I started this job my mom was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. At first only a few people at work knew. It’s was almost like if I didn’t say the words, let people know, it wasn’t happening. I drove down to Maryland once week at the time, and the weekly trip and work itself became my distraction from the turmoil in my personal life. As the months passed and my mom became sicker, more of my coworkers learned of my mom’s illness. I took days off from work to be with my mom. Everyone was so supportive during this time and after my mom died. I’m grateful for that and won’t forget the support and comfort I received at the time.

It’s hard to believe how quickly time can pass. Changes can occur very quickly and sometimes have a huge impact on life. Or changes can happen slowly and you don’t see how big the change really is until you take a look at then and now. When I started my job, my daughter was about 10 months old. In 2 months, she will 6. Life can bring us good and bad changes, and we all experience good and bad anniversaries. Here are 2 pictures of my daughter, taken on her first birthday and about 2 weeks ago. I look at them and smile.

Responses

  1. Happy 5 years! Thank you for sharing the photos of your daughter. She is lovely. I agree with you taking a step backwards and looking at how life has changed. It brings sad and happy emotions, but most of all, remembrance of love.

  2. Good reminder to celebrate the great things in life 🙂

  3. How wonderful to hear your positive reflections on this anniversary, and see the delightful pictures of your daughter.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

