Posted by: Kathy | May 15, 2012

Mother’s Day…A Little Late

I didn’t blog on Mother’s Day. Honestly, the weekend was so busy that I didn’t have the time or the energy to write a blog. But that didn’t keep me from thinking about my mom. It didn’t keep my from wishing she were still here with us. On Mother’s Day afternoon, my dad, husband, the kids, and I all released balloons in honor and memory of my mom. Each balloon was a different shape and color, and we watched as they rose high into the sky and then disappeared from sight. I hope my mom could see our expression of love for her. I hope my mom knows how much she is still missed by all of us.

A few nights ago I was lying in bed and these words came to me for my mom.

You were my mother,
always there for me,
from a major teenage crisis
to a minor scraped knee.

You were my mother,
putting me first in your life,
finding happiness and contentment
as a mom and a wife.

You were my mother.
I think of you every day
as there is always something to remind me
of you in some special way.

You are my mother
and death can’t take that from me.
No matter what the future brings,
my mom is who you will always be.

I love you, Mom…yesterday, today, always.

Responses

  1. Release of the balloons – Do you remember years ago when Zachary’s party ended Nikki let go of her balloon in the parking lot? We looked at her surprised that she had done so. You then asked her why she let her balloon go. She looked at us and said she was giving it to “grandmom angel”. I will never forget that moment.

    • After every birthday party where she receives a balloon, she lets it go for my mom. It’s amazing what she feels for her grandmother considering she never really knew her.

  2. This is a truly lovely post, and a lovely poem. I believe our mothers know we miss them and know we would have given anything to spend the day with them here.

    • Thank you, Loni. I believe my mom is watching over her family and knows how much we miss her. I always wonder just how much she sees of us here.

  3. Hi Kathy,

    I think our heads and heart might have been in the same place this past weekend. I found it very difficult. I think your poem is very poignant and I know the balloons made it to heaven, messages received. I thought I would share with you Kathy what I wrote……thinking of you Kathy, hugs, Wendy,

    http://www.boomercafe.com/2012/05/15/baby-boomers-and-the-time-of-experiencing-loss/

    • Hi Wendy: it’s great to hear from you. I think of you and hope you are well. I read your story and loved it. The pictures are great. Thanks so much for sharing with me and congrats on being published! Take care, Kathy

  4. Beautiful!

    • Thank you. 🙂


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

