Posted by: Kathy | May 21, 2012

Fourth Birthday Without My Mom

Except for Thanksgiving and Christmas, this is the year of the fourths. Today I am celebrating my fourth birthday without my mom. At 3:12 pm, I officially turn 43 years old. It’s still hard to believe that I am not celebrating this day with my mom.

If my mom were still with me, my day would have started with a phone call from her and my dad, singing happy birthday. I am fortunate in that on my last birthday with my mom, my parents left a message for me. It’s the only voice message I have of my mom, and at the end of this message my mom tells me that she loves me. Of course, I listened to the message this morning.

I miss you Mom. I miss celebrating birthdays and holidays with you, and on days like this one I miss you even more. I am fortunate to have shared many special days with you. Mom, you are the one who made these days special with the caring and love you put into everything you did. I love you Mom. 

Below is a picture of my mom and I taken around my first birthday.

Responses

  1. I love that photo! It’s so beautiful! Happy birthday! Sending you lots of good wishes from across the continents 🙂

    • Thank you! 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday, Kathy. It’s going to be a year of firsts for me so I totally understand how you’re feeling. All we can do is try to focus on the wonderful memories of birthdays past. I need to remember my own advice when my mom’s birthday rolls around on July 4, when she would have had a 90th bday celebration. Hang in there.

    • Thank you so much. I am fortunate to have a very loving family to celebrate my birthday with, even though my mom isn’t with us. Tomorrow I will share pictures of our day at the zoo, my birthday tradition for many years. Yes, focusing on wonderful memories is the best, but sometimes difficult to do. We just have to keep moving forward. Thanks again!!


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

