Posted by: Kathy | May 22, 2012

Birthdays at the Zoo

As I posted, yesterday was my 43rd birthday and the fourth birthday I’ve celebrated without my mom. With my dad’s upcoming wedding this Saturday and the fact that Mother’s Day is followed so closely by my birthday, I decided that I wanted to celebrate my birthday on Mother’s Day weekend, thinking it would make celebrating these days without my mom a little easier emotionally. On Saturday, we went to the Philadelphia Zoo.

I remember past birthdays and the great times we shared together as a family. In 2006, I literally waddled around the zoo – my daughter was born about 7 weeks later. In 2008, we took my daughter to the zoo for the first time. Nikki still has the little zoo animals my mom got for her. In 2009 we went to the zoo for the first time without my mom, and the kids got their faces painted for the first time.

We went to the zoo again for my birthday in 2010 and 2011. Below is one of my favorite pictures from our trip in 2011.

This year, we had another fun time at the zoo. The day was sunny and warm and everyone was excited to be going to the zoo. Here are some pictures from our trip this year.

Nikki, my little diva, loves having her picture taken. But it was hard to get a good picture of Matt and his friend.

The bears are my favorite animal at the zoo. Fortunately, the polar bears decided that it was a nice day to be outside.

Spending my birthday at the Philadelphia Zoo has become a tradition. I have so many good memories and lots of pictures of the times we spent there. I’m looking forward to next year’s trip.

Responses

  1. What beautiful photographs! Thank you for sharing these memories. My birthday is only 4 days after my mom died, and it is my 30th this year – my mom always made birthdays so special, and I am really dreading it. Last year we were still in such a daze, making funeral arrangements, there was only a little time to feel the sadness of the occasion… this year I have all this time building up to it. But it will come again, and again, and again… and you remind me to do whatever I feel is best for me, year by year.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

