Posted by: Kathy | June 19, 2012

Anniversaries

Today would have been my parents’ 47th wedding anniversary. Even though my dad is happily remarried, the years he shared with my mom will not be forgotten. Instead of typing a lot of words, I want to share some photos of my parents over the years they were together.

This last picture is one I’ve never shared publicly before. It’s a hard picture for me to share, but it’s the last picture that was taken of our family on Halloween night 2008. My mom lost her battle to pancreatic cancer about 2 weeks later.

I love you Mom and Dad.

Responses

  1. You have a beautiful family. Thanks for sharing your memories with us.

    • Thanks Loni. My family means everything to me. I just wish my mom was still wish us to share everything we do together.

  2. You are brave to share something so personal with us…I am sure it is painful to see your Mom’s decline documented in pictures. Still, it is part of your journey with her and I think it is beautiful.

    • Thanks Angie. Since I saw my mom a lot and then every day during the last few weeks of her life, I didn’t see the decline like others did. It was only until I started looking through pictures of the last year of my mom’s life that I could truly see what pancreatic cancer slowly took from her.

  3. Kathy, a loving tribute, no words necessary. thinking of you, as we share a similar journey of sorrow and memories. hugs, wendy

    • Hi Wendy: Yes, it seems that too many of us are walking this journey of grief and hopefuly healing, remembering the good times and the bad ones. Hope all is well with you.

  4. This is a very lovely and loving post. Thank you for sharing these photos with us. I cannot imagine how you feel at this time *hugs*

    • Thanks. I have boxes of picture of my family. I love sharing them and their memories with others. One day, we plan to scan them all so that nothing happens to them. They are truly precious.

  5. Awww. Bless you, Kathy. I know what looking at that kind of picture is like. I seem to want to avoid those know and just look at healthier days. But Ray and I were so tightly bonded in his illness, I can’t let them go, either. Rooting for you!

    • Thanks Casey. I was scared to post that picture. My mom always was the picture of health and throughout most of her illness she looked healthy. But one day after she died I compared that picture with one taken of her just 6 weeks earlier, the difference was shocking. Take care.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

