Posted by: Kathy | June 28, 2012

The Look on Her Face

Some of the greatest joys in life is seeing happiness on the face of others. At times, it’s better than receiving a gift yourself. Their joy is a true gift.

Yesterday was my daughter’s 6th birthday. Over the weekend, we went to see The Lion King in NYC, a birthday gift from her grandfather. The day was magical for Nikki – riding the train, lunch at Macy’s, a mini shopping spree at the biggest Toys R Us store I’ve ever seen, and seeing The Lion King. She told us it was the best day ever, and was in tears for a few minutes when she realized the day was coming to an end and we were going home.

I wish I could have taken a picture of Nikki as she watched the animals walk down the aisle and on the stage. This was the first play she has been too, and seeing the look of happiness and awe on Nikki’s face warmed my heart. Her joy brought me happiness, and I hope there are many more times like this one.

Since my husband works second shift, we had a family birthday dinner on Sunday. Tony got her candles that relit themselves after they were blown out.

The look of surprise on Nikki’s face when the candles relit themselves was hysterical.

Nikki kept trying to blow out the candles as smoke filled the room.

Nikki had a great time celebrating her 6th birthday. It’s one she will never forget, and neither will I. Knowing that as a family we brought her so much happiness was a gift for me. I love you Nikki.

Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

