Posted by: Kathy | July 20, 2012

Brave

I’ve been away from the personal side of my computer for several weeks now. I haven’t had time to write a post or read any of the blogs I follow. Work. Kids. Life’s demands and needs. They all come first in what ever order they land in front of me. There are days I wish I could add an hour and have the energy to catch up on me. Tonight, I had to write.

After camp today, my daughter and I had “mother-daughter” time and I took her to see the movie Brave. She has been asking to see the movie since she saw the trailer for it months ago and was practically bouncing out of her seat as we drove to the theater. Although I had seen the trailer, the movie wasn’t what I expected. For me, Brave was an incredible movie that touched my heart and showed the depth of a bond between mother and daughter. The end brought tears to my eyes, which I quickly whisked away when the lights started coming on because I didn’t want Nikki to see that I had been crying. Trying to explain what I was feeling in my heart would have been impossible, especially to a 6 year old.

Lately, I’ve been trying to focus on the positive. But there are still times when I am hit by the loss of my mom, the fact that she isn’t part of my life anymore, and a sadness fills my heart. Tonight, an innocent children’s movie reminded me of just how much I miss my mom’s presence in my life and how I would have done anything to save her from pancreatic cancer.

If I had one wish right now, it would be that I could go see Brave with my mom and my daughter. But I am grateful that I was able to share the experience with my daughter, even if it didn’t have the same meaning to her as it did for me.

I miss you mom. Your beauty fills my heart with love.

Mom’s college graduation picture

Responses

  1. It’s very interesting to hear that this movie had the same effect on others as it did on me! I thought I was silly to be crying on the way home from a children’s movie… but it was so powerful. It really did capture that raw feeling of protection and love that accompanies motherhood. It made me ache to feel it again. Sounds like we needed a group hug after that one!

    • As I wrote to Jen above, one of my daughter’s camp counselors, who has to be in her 20s, said she cried during the movie. I think it especially hits those who’ve lost mothers. I agree with you, Brave is a powerful movie. What I felt at the end of the movie stayed with me for hours, until I fell asleep. I had hoped to dream of my mom, but didn’t. I want to see it again too. I wish we all lived closer, we could see it together. 🙂

  2. That movie really touched my heart too and made me think of my Mom and how I wished she were here. The tears were flowing.

    • A woman at my daughter’s camp told me that she had seen Brave and cried at the end of the movie. As we walked out of camp, I thought why would you cry during Brave, based on what I knew of the movie at that point. But as soon as I saw it I understood. I want to see it again. I will watch it with my mom’s picture next to me.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

