Posted by: Kathy | September 17, 2012

Happy Birthday Mom

Today would have been my mom’s 69th birthday. The fourth birthday I’ve celebrated without her. I’ve been thinking about the last birthday we all celebrated together. I can see my mom sitting on the sofa, surrounded by her grandkids, a big smile on her face as she opened her gifts. She was happy and we were all together. It feels like that day happened not too long ago, but then I look around and see how much has changed and know that several years have gone by. But no matter how many years pass, I will never forget my mom on her birthday.

Today the kids and I released balloons in my mom’s memory by the lake in the park. I wish I could have done more. As I mentioned in a poem I wrote a month or so ago, I wish I could have handed my mom the balloons instead of letting them go toward Heaven.

Happy Birthday, Mom. We love you.

Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing your words with us about your loss. I am just beginning to deal with the loss of my mother who passed away on Sept 13. Her birthday was one day after your mothers. God Bless you and may the memories stay strong and the pain diminish.

    • Hi Bruce: I’m sorry for the loss of your mom. Special days, like birthdays and holidays, are difficult. I wish you all the best as you navigate the journey of grief and loss. Know that you are not alone in this journey. There are many people who understand what you are feeling and going through. Take care.

      • Kathy,thank you, and you are right…we are not alone. We may all have different experiences and relationships with our parents, but we can share the loss and the pain. It is a journey. I have written in my blog about some of this as well (it’s good therapy)and also about the loss of my sister, who died only six weeks before my mother. Her birthday was this past Sunday and I realized that I would have year full of “firsts” without them both.

  2. Lots of hugs to you and yours.

    • Thanks Loni. Hope all is well with you. Take care.

  3. Hugs from across the miles! Thank you for sharing. And yes, your balloons. Her balloons. On her birthday. I will always remember you sharing that with us. 🙂

    • Thanks for the hugs. I can’t tell you how many balloons we’ve sent to the heavens as a family for my mom. I hope she can see them. Take care.

  4. Embrace the moments.

    • Thanks Bonnie. I try to share special moments with my kids to keep my mom’s memory alive for them.

  5. Thinking of you! My Mom’s 69th (and our 2nd without her) will be on Oct 2nd. I feel like I’ve been emotional for the last couple weeks knowing this is coming up…..

    • Hi Jen: It’s weird that my mom, your mom, and Wendie’s mom (comment above) would have all celebrated their 69th birthday this year. Special days are hard, and I’ve found that sometimes the days leading up to that day can be harder than the actual day. I hope the next few weeks and your mom’s birthday aren’t too hard for you. Take care.

  6. That is a nice way to honour your mom 🙂
    My mom’s 69th is on Friday…second one without her. Not sure what I will do that day.
    Yesterday was a bit of a down day for me. I cannot believe I am going into the second year.

    • Hi Wendie: I hope Friday won’t be too hard on you. It’s hard to believe how many years have gone by without my mom. I think of a picture of my mom on her last birthday with us, the kids sitting next to her, and then I look at my kids now. But no matter how much time passes, our moms will always be in our hearts. Take care.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

