Posted by: Kathy | November 13, 2012

Visiting Hours in Heaven

I came across this on Facebook today and I wanted to share it with all those who’ve lost loved ones.

Credit: 94.9 WOLX

If there were visiting hours in Heaven, would you visit lost loved ones?

I would.

I would visit my mom and tell her what an impact she made on my life, let her know how much I miss her, and that I will always love her. I would share with her the true me, not the person I tried to show her when she was alive. I would tell my mom all about the kids, their accomplishments, and share photos of them.

I would visit my grandparents – Mom Mom and Pop Pop; they were a big part of my life too. This time I would write down the stories my grandmother tells me about my heritage to pass on to my kids. Stories she told me that I only remember bits of now and wish I had written down when she first shared them with me years ago. I would joke around with my grandfather. He always had something to say about what I was wearing or the fact that I never wore shoes. He is where I got my sarcasm from.

I also would visit my dad’s parents – Grandmom and Grandpop. I didn’t really get to know them as well I wanted to, should have, when I was growing up. I would spend time with them, time I did not get in life.

I wish there were visiting hours in Heaven. But for now I have to be content with the fact that my loved ones are at peace and that one day we will be reunited as a family.

Responses

  1. It’s such a wonderful post, ‘visiting hours in heaven.’ I lost my Dad when I was twelve years old, he never had a chance to see me grow up. I love the idea of visiting hours in heaven.I’d also tell my dad how much I miss him. Dear Kathy it’s such an amazing idea, thank you, and also thank you for visiting my blog regularly and clicking the like button, it means a world to me. 🙂

    • You are welcome. I enjoy reading your blog. Been a bit behind lately on my posts. I’m sorry you lost your dad at such a young age. I believe he watched you grow up. I know my mom watches over her family. But wouldn’t it be amazing to see the loved ones who are gone. Thanks for commenting.

  2. Thanks for visiting me today. I’ve been reading your post regarding the pain from missing your mother. Hope it helps to put words to your heart’s cry and know that many of us have been where you are. Knowing they are well and waiting for all the family to come someday is a blessing. But loneliness still causes pain. I’m sorry.

    • Thank you. Writing has helped me to heal.

  3. My mom passed away just months ago she was diagnosed with lung cancer and it took her fast I never thought god would take her she was feisty full of fight I thought she would make it. I never thought she would loss the battle I never told her I loved her that day the day she left we never talked about the end she knew I could never face. See my mom was my rock my guide she stood by me no matter what wrong or right I was her daughter.and she was my everything I miss her so terrible bad I hurt every day since she left a left empty broken I don’t know why it still beats.

    • Hi Bonnie: I am so sorry for your loss. I know exactly how you feel. My mom fought so hard to beat pancreatic cancer. It’s been almost 7 years and I still can’t believe she’s gone sometimes. My mom was my rock too, but I didn’t realize what a huge role she played in my life until she was gone, and then there was a big hole I couldn’t fill. It hits me at times, her loss from my life. Please know that things will get easier. You will never forget your mom, what you shared together, but the pain of her loss will lessen. You are not alone in the way you feel. Hugs.

  4. My parents are not dead but I constantly think of what things would be when they are gone. I start thinking to myself ” I should of got to know them better. I should of asked about they’re brothers and sisters names. I should of asked them about memories they most love when they were young”. I’m thankful I thought like this soon while my parents are still alive. So now I ask them questions about them and their past. Like today, my dad told me about pastorelas that people made in Acuna, Coahuila from where he’s from. How they went from house to house doing pastorelas during the Christmas season. Pastorelas are plays about the birth of Christ and the shepherds and the devil hanging around. So if your parents or loveones are still alive today, starting today ask thing you want to remember them for. Ask about their history and how their parents raised them. Ask about their traditions and cultures and how they are different today. Just get to know them and their history before they depart to the other world. Thank you Kathy for bringing this up and your blog. Much apreciated

    • Hi. Thanks so much for your comment. What you say is so true. I wish I had known more about my mom and her side of the family. I know some things, but not as much as I wish I did. There are now so many things I wish I had asked my mom or her mom, but I didn’t and there’s a lot of history that will remain unknown to me and my children. Learning about your parents’ past, their life as a child, lets you see a new side of them. My grandmother told me some great stories – I wish I had written them down. I tell my kids stories about my life when I was their ages, sharing a part of me and sometimes my mom with them. Great advice. Take care.

  5. als je ouders sterven
    sterft een stukje van je verleden
    als je partner sterft
    sterft een stukje van je heden
    als je kindje sterft
    sterft een groot deel van je toekomst

    • Hi Catharina:

      I translated this as:

      if your parents die
      dies a piece of your past
      if your partner dies
      dies a piece of your present
      if your child dies
      dies a large part of your future

      This is so true. Thank you for stopping by and sharing. Take care.

  6. This is beautiful. Your post filled my eyes and warmed my heart. Eighteen months ago I lost my husband; he was my one true love.
    Blessings ~ Maxi

    • Thank you Maxi. It’s so hard to lose the people we love the most. I hope you are healing from your loss and that your grief isn’t too deep. Please know that I am here to listen if you need anything. Take care.

      • I just lost my husband. I feel like I am drowning. I miss him so.

      • Hi Angie: I am so sorry you lost your husband. During this time of unbearable sadness and grief, know that you’re not alone. I know of several blogs where those who’ve lost spouses post: Maxi’s Comments (http://maxiscomments.com/); Rose Chimera (http://rosechimera.wordpress.com/); bedraggled & kicking (http://bedraggledandkicking.wordpress.com/), and Love in the Spaces (http://stephaniemartinglennon.com/). Connecting with others who’ve lost loved ones helps. This blog and the people I’ve met through it have helped me to heal. Please let me know if you need anything. Take care.

  7. I wish!

    • Same here. If only…

  8. What a neat idea…I would visit my ‘adopted’ dad. I’d want to let him know just how important he was to me and why I really started calling him Dad. He never knew the real reason.

    • It’s funny and sad at the same time the things we wish we could tell our loved ones after they are gone. There’s a lot my mom didn’t know about me. It’s only now that I am ready to share. Take care.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

