Posted by: Kathy | November 14, 2012

A Note for Grandmom

My daughter loves to write and draw. Over the past few years, I have found little houses in crayon on our walls, scribbles on doors, and drawings and notes on my work papers. We’ve given Nikki numerous drawing pads, which she quickly fills.

I recently gave my daughter a little notebook I wasn’t using to “scribble” in. Today as I was making lunches for the kids, I noticed the notebook on top of the microwave. I’m not sure how it ended up there, but the note written in my daughter’s handwriting popped out at me.

I don’t know how long ago Nikki wrote that note. I know she loves and misses my mom and, like all of us, wishes her grandmother was still with us. Thank you, Nikki, for warming my heart with your simple note.

Responses

  1. This is so sweet! she misses her very much, doesn’t she?

    • Nikki was only two and half years old when my mom died. But, yes, she does miss her grandmom. How I wish my mom was still part of my kids everyday lives. She was an incredible grandmother.

  2. Who woulda thought that a microwave could make your day? Hold something to make your heart feel all warm and fuzzy?

    Blessings to you ~ Maxi

    • Thank you Maxi. As I approach the 4 year anniversary of my mom’s death, this note, which I just happened to see today, was a welcomed surprise. Take care.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

