Posted by: Kathy | November 21, 2012

Thankful for My Family

When my mom was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer, I realized the true importance of family.

My mom (this is my favorite picture of her – college graduation)

Today, as we celebrate Thanksgiving, I am thankful for my family.

My husband, Tony (who is usually behind the camera)

My son, Matt (at a recent TKD competition)

My daughter, Nikki (just being herself)

The kids (taken a few years ago)

My dad (in an Oregon forest)

My brother (graduation for his Master’s degree in 2008)

Anyone who knows me well enough knows that my family includes all of the pets.

Kodi, my Black Lab-Coonhound mix

Misty, our American Eskimo-Border Collie-Australian Shepard mix

Nina, my husband’s Cavashon (taken before she broke her leg)

Max and Smokey (sorry it’s a little blurry)

Leo, my picky guinea pig

Matt’s owl finches – Patton and Kat

We also have a 90 gallon saltwater fishtank.

Today, I am grateful for my family.

Happy Thanksgiving

Responses

  1. You have a beautiful family!

    • Thank you :-).

  2. Very cool family. Love the kids and the critters. Hope it was a Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Thanks Janice. I hope you had a nice Thanksgiving too. It will always be a weird holiday for me, since my mom died so close to Thanksgiving. Take care.

  3. You have a beautiful family and… whew…must have great patience with all those pets:)! Thanks for sharing them with us…I am thankful that you write and keep posting so that I (and everyone else who has loss a parent recently and is reading your blog) can find some comfort and support…Having to get through this first holiday season without my mom is the second hardest thing I’ve had to do in my life…number one was, of course, losing her.

    • Thanks Lynn. I appreciate your kind words. Patience is not a strong point of mine and I guess I do push my “limits” each time I add someone to our home. But I wouldn’t change my life in any way, except to have my mom still with us. Even after 4 years the holidays are still difficult. I hope your first Thanksgiving without your mom wasn’t too hard. I wish you all the best. Take care.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

