Posted by: Kathy | December 16, 2012

What Do I Tell Her?

Besides my home, I always believed that the safest places for my children were school and church. That belief changed on Friday with the horrible massacre that occurred at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, CT. My heart goes out to the parents and relatives of the children who were killed in this senseless tragedy, as well as the families of the others who were killed. I cannot begin to imagine what they are going through right now. The grief that fills their hearts. My heart also goes out to the children who were traumatized by this shooting and will be forever scarred because of it.

All weekend a question has been weighing heavily on my heart. Should I tell my daughter what happened? If so, what should I tell her? Nikki loves school and I do not want to make her fearful of going to school. But I also do not want her to overhear something about this tragedy and not understand. I want to be the one to explain this to my daughter and feel that I need to do so before she goes back to school tomorrow. But I have no idea what to say.

As an adult, I have trouble understanding why this occurred. How can someone shoot an innocent child multiple times? Yesterday, the names and ages of the children who were killed were released. All of the children were my daughter’s age or slightly older. Innocent young children, just like those who attend elementary schools all over the world. On Friday I kept thinking what if this had happened at my daughter’s school? A few months ago, there was a bomb threat at the middle school my son attends. We were told little about what had happened and of course did not know anything until it was over. A recorded message from the principal assured parents that all the proper steps had been taken, and I know three kids were removed from the school in handcuffs and expelled. But whether this was a true threat or a sick joke is something I do not know and probably never will.

Is this the kind of world we live in now, where our kids need to fear going to school?

Is this the kind of world we live in now, where one day my goodbye to my kids in the morning will be my last words to them?

Both of my kids take TaeKwonDo. My daughter knows some self-defense and she knows to stay away from strangers. My son is a second degree black belt and what he can do is impressive. But this type of self-defense cannot protect either of my children from a bullet. The doors of both the elementary and middle schools are locked at all times during school hours. But all you need to do is press a button and after a few seconds the door will unlock, allowing anyone entry into the school. So how do I keep my children safe in a place where safety should not be an issue?

My thoughts and prayers are with all those who were affected by Friday’s massacre at Sandy Hook Elementary School. May you find peace.

Responses

  1. I agree. I can’t imagine what the holidays will be like for those who’ve lost little loved ones. Take care.

  2. I can’t agree with you more Kathy. I know you have the right to bear arms in the constitution but is this now a watershed for stricter gun control.??
    Sadly too late for 20 young lives and 7 brave adults that put their lives on the line on Friday morning and paid the ultimate price foe their bravery.
    Any time is a bad time for anything like this to happen, but so close to Christmas is terrible. …an awful crime perpetrated by someone whose reasons for this are yet to be discovered.
    May all the victims rest in peace, god bless them.
    Love n hugs xxx


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

