Posted by: Kathy | December 26, 2012

A Wish Come True

In my last post, I wrote that all I wanted for Christmas was to see my mom’s face again and to hear her voice. Yesterday, my Christmas wish came true.

My husband mentioned a couple of months ago that he had a surprise for me. Time passed by with work, family, and life responsibilities. Yesterday for Christmas, he gave me the surprise. I was told to close my eyes and when I opened them, instead of a gift on my lap, my husband asked me to look at the TV. Open was a folder called “Merry Xmas Kathy” and inside this folder were long-forgotten videos of Christmas day 2003, a trip we took to Vermont in 2002, and my son’s ultrasound and my baby shower for him in 1999.

The sound of my mom’s voice warmed my heart, to see her again brought tears to my eyes, as I watched portions of our trip to Vermont so many years ago. My mom smiled and laughed and was so full of life on the screen of our TV. I could feel her love for my son and the joy that was in her heart just because she was with her family.

The video taken of the baby shower not only showed me glimpses of my mom, but also my grandmother. My baby shower was held on my grandmother’s 86th birthday. In the video, we sang happy birthday to her, my mom’s hand on her mother’s shoulder as we sang. After the singing stopped, my grandmother spoke, thanking everyone for making her feel special. It has been 7 years since I heard my grandmother’s voice.

I had forgotten about these videos. In the past, we rarely took videos, always forgetting to bring the video camera with us for a special occasion or using it to capture everyday memories. Now we use our cell phones for pictures and videos. I wish we had taken more videos of the family when my grandparents and mom were still alive. My husband discovered these tapes in a box in our basement. As he soon found out, the place where we had originally placed them for safekeeping was not the best place for these tapes. The moisture in our basement had started to degrade the tapes. My husband told me that as he was digitizing them on Christmas Eve night, the tapes broke numerous times. With great patience and care, he would take the case off, fixed the tape, and tried to preserve every memory for me. There is one more tape to digitize – my son’s birth video.

Until yesterday, I thought the only “recordings” we had of my mom were a brief video from a trip to the beach, a video of a zoo trip with a few shots of my mom, and a phone message from the last birthday I shared with her. These videos bring my mom alive again in a way that I have not been able to experience until now. Watching them, I can see my mom again, full of life and love.

My husband brought my mom to me for Christmas. Although she was not physically standing next to me or talking directly to me, it was so wonderful to see her again in these videos. It is an incredible gift from my husband and something that I will always cherish.

Responses

  1. What a fantastic christmas gift Kathy!
    When I get home tonight I’m going to have a look for some video of my Mum.
    I hope you had a great christmas, and that the New Year brings you all your desire.
    We had our family christmas dinner on the 25th, the 2nd one now since we lost Mum, and what I missed most ( obviously apart from Mum herself,) was her singing Happy Christmas, and the cards that she used to give
    She used to spend so much time looking for the ” right ” card that it bacame part of your present, because I knew how much effort had gone in to getting that card.
    She was a real character, small but with a will of iron,but with a heart of gold, and I’m missing her this year so much.
    Have a great New Year Kathy, enjoy those films!
    love n hugs
    xxx

    • Yes, it was a very precious gift from my husband. I miss my mom more this year than in years past. Christmas will never be the same for me. I hope you found some video of your mom. Funny you mention cards. My mom always told me that all she ever wanted was a card for her birthday or any holiday. It’s painful to walk through the card section and not be able to get a card for my mom – although I’ve attached a few to balloons and let them go. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and I wish you all the best for the coming year. Hugs.

  2. Wonderful!

    • Thank you Bonnie!

  3. What a treasure!

    • It is and a gift of love. Happy New Year!

  4. What a wonderful Christmas gift! We need to preserve those memories of our loved ones. Happy New Year!

    • I can’t agree more. Preserving memories of loved ones is so important. Wishing you the best for 2013!


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

