Posted by: Kathy | January 22, 2013

A Proud Parent

This weekend I was able to share an accomplishment in my daughter’s life that made me very proud. On Saturday, Nikki tested for and received her yellow Little Dragon belt in TaeKwonDo.

Nikki yellow dragon belt

My son started TaeKwonDo when I was pregnant with Nikki. For years, she has watched as I helped Matt prepare for testing, the nervousness and tension on testing day (mostly on my part), making sure the uniform was clean, the pep talk before testing, and the excitement surrounding the day. Saturday was Nikki’s day and she got to experience all of this. She told me later in the day that it was the best day of her life. I smiled and hoped that she would experience many more days like this during her lifetime.

I know that my mom was there with us in spirit during Nikki’s testing. This is an event she would not miss, and she is proud of granddaughter.

Congratulations Nikki on getting your next Little Dragon belt. I am so proud of you and love you with all my heart.

 

Responses

  1. Congratulations to Nikki!!!!!

    • Thanks Lilah! 🙂

  2. Yay! Congratulations Nikki! Reminds me of when my son did the same. They are so cute!!!

    • Thanks Denise. They are cute at this age. Then I look at my son, a teenager and a black belt. No longer my baby. I cherish these moments with my kids. Take care.

  3. Aw congratulations to Nikki! I used to do Taekwondo! I love it.

    • Thank you. I love TaeKwonDo too. It has so much to offer beyond the physical activity. Take care.

  4. Go Nikki!!! Congratulations. Your Mom was definitely with you and celebrated too.

    • Thank you, Christine, for your comment, and for taking the time to read my blog. Take care.

  5. Hi Kathy! Huge Congratulations to Nikki to getting her belt. I know this is a very happy moment for all of you. And like you said….what a fantastic 1st hand experience for Nikki. It makes all the difference that she absolutely loved it. Also, so glad that your Mom was there too. 🙂 Love Ya My Friend, Claudia

    ________________________________

    • Thank you, Claudia. I’m glad we could give Nikki a special day, one that she earned. I’m glad my mom was there too. I hope, but I shouldn’t doubt her love for her family. Love you, my friend.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

