Posted by: Kathy | January 23, 2013

They Are Still With Us

I dedicate this poem to everyone who has lost a loved one and to all the loved ones who are no longer with us.

They Are Still With Us

No matter how much time has passed,
days gone by,
or questions asked
that start with why,
they are still with us.

Within our hearts
love shares a place
with the shadow of grief
and its too familiar ache,
but their love is always felt.

Our minds are almost focused
on the present and its tasks,
but never-forgotten memories
pull our thoughts into the past.
Little things remind us of them.

Life moves on
but doesn’t feel the same.
A hole that no one can fill
echoes with their names.
Their memory never fades.

Although gone from this earth
they remain part of our hearts,
as death cannot break
the bond of love apart.
Their imprint has been left on us.

And then one day
death takes us as well,
no more grief or pain,
our story someone else will tell,
and we are reunited with them.

Responses

  1. I’ve been thinking a lot about my Mum recently, as we start to move in to the 2 year anniversaries of the last few months of her life and death.

    This is a brilliant piece Kathy and so true, from the shadow of grief, through the hole that no one can fill, to the last long journey when death takes us as well.
    Tears too Kathy, when the memories become too much.
    Thanks for writing this, it’s lovely.
    Love n hugs
    xxx

    • Thank you so much. I wish you all the best as you go through the second anniversaries. Take care.

  2. I tell you Kathy….your words give me goosebumps! Not in a scary way, but in that they reach you in ways that the ordinary….doesn’t! You are truly talented and I know you’ve been a healing blessing to many, including yourself. I always pray for peace and continued healing for you, My Friend. Love you! Claudia

    ________________________________

    • Thanks Claudia. This came to me at 11:30 last night when I closed my eyes to sleep. I knew if I didn’t write it down I would never remember it this morning. I refined it a little today. Funny how things just pop into my mind. Love you my friend.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

