Posted by: Kathy | February 25, 2013

Juggles

When I started working at my current job, I would drive to the company once a week – a 6 hour daily round trip most of the time, sometimes longer. To make my drive tolerable, I listened to music or books on my Kindle, and talked to my mom, husband, or a friend at times. I got used to the stop and go traffic, the delays, and the drive itself. For me, it became alone time – no husband, no kids, no pets, just me and silence if I wanted it. The quiet was a chance for my brain to turn on and I did a lot of thinking during those drives, especially after my mom was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer.

Of course, my mom worried about me when I made my weekly drive, so I always texted or called when I arrived at work and then again at home. My mom had a great deal of empathy, more than I have ever seen with any other person. One day shortly after I started this job, my mom gave me a bear named Juggles to keep in my car. She told me that she wanted me to feel happy every time I looked at this bear.

juggles

I placed Juggles around the back of my rearview mirror, so his face and big red feet were always peeking out at me. And I did smile every time I looked at him during any drive I made. This bear stayed in my car until I blew the engine one day because of an unknown oil leak. After I emptied out my car, I put Juggles in my office at home, but somehow he made his way into my daughter’s room. No real surprise there.

Yesterday, as Nikki and I were cleaning up her bedroom, I came across this bear. I probably haven’t seen Juggles in at least a year, but as soon as I saw him, I was instantly reminded of my mom and the reason she got this bear for me. Juggles is now back in my office where he belongs, and every time I look at the bear I think of my mom and her love for me.

I still drive to my company every few months for a meeting. Next time I make that 6 hour drive, Juggles will be in the car with me, and so will my mom.

Responses

  1. A lovely memory Kathy, it made me smile reading your post:-) xxx

    • Thank you. I’m glad it brought a smile to your face. Best wishes to you. Take care.

  2. Sweet remembrances.

    • Yes, it is. Every time I look at the bear I think of my mom’s kindness and love.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

