Posted by: Kathy | March 12, 2013

Daily Prompt: Erasure

Today’s daily prompt from WordPress is “You have the choice to erase one incident from your past, as though it never happened. What would you erase and why?”

Erasing Pancreatic Cancer

There are many past life moments
I wish I could go back and redo.
Life teaches us as we move forward,
and each day brings something new.

But there is only one moment in life
I want to completely erase,
the day my mom’s diagnosis of pancreatic cancer
slapped us in the face.

That fateful day
was a precursor to much heartache and pain.
What I wouldn’t give
to be with my mom again.

How I wish I could erase that day
and the loss it brought to so many lives.
My children would have their grandmother,
my dad would be with his wife.

So many days of uncertainty and grief
would suddenly be no more.
Erasing that diagnosis and what it brought
is something my heart longs for.

That diagnosis took away
the many years I thought I had
to share time together as a family
with both my mom and dad.

My heart aches with tears of loss,
tears that leave bitter regret,
of all that I should have done
and things done I want to forget.

I was trying to rebuild my life
and the relationships that I shared,
then pancreatic cancer came along,
ripping through our lives without a care.

I was given just 349 days,
and my list of “repairs” was long.
I tried my best to make things right,
but then my mom was gone.

Erasing the words “pancreatic cancer”
from my mom’s destiny
and giving her back the life she so loved
would be a cherished gift for her family.

Responses

  1. Hi Rose: Thanks for your comment. I wish the words pancreatic cancer had never entered our lives. Things would be so much different, better. I know what I’ve gone through has made me stronger and I’ve learned things from the experience, but I’d rather have my mom back and learn these life lessons another way. Take care.

  2. Amen! I saw this daily prompt and thought along the same lines as you…to erase pancreatic cancer, from my life, my memory, my experience, etc. You wrote my thoughts! Thank you.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

