Posted by: Kathy | April 17, 2013

Making Time

Almost a month has gone by since my last post. Time passes quickly when you’re busy. Work, TKD commitments, and family responsibilities have kept me from blogging. I think about all the blogs I follow and how I haven’t kept up with them. I think about my mom and want to post, but right now the words don’t come quickly. So I’ve stayed away, but I’ve missed my blog, the blogs I follow, and the people who read what I write. This blog is very important to me and I need to make time for it.

So much has happened since I last posted. I met my first nephew. My kids and I participated in a national TKD tournament, and my son and I did 1,000 kicks at that tournament to raise money for a charity called SmileTrain. I tested for my next belt in TKD and will be awarded that belt on Friday. I’m helping out at my church with planning activities associated with its 175th anniversary. I’ve helped my daughter with homework and a project. I’ve spent time outside with my kids in springtime weather that comes and goes, and that time with them is precious. And work has been insane.

During this time, I have learned things about my kids and myself. In a way, I’ve been on a journey of self-discovery. Although I am not ready to reveal what I’ve learned about myself, each day I try to grow in some way and I continue to heal. I think of my mom every day and still miss her deeply. My mom will always be in my heart, but recently I’ve felt more at peace. The pain I feel over her death is lifting.

This blog is important to me. Writing has helped me to heal and honor my mom. Through my writing, this blog, I’ve met many wonderful people. I am not ready to stop blogging, and I won’t, but I am truly healing. I am finding peace for the first time in many years.

I wish everyone the best and I apologize for my absence from blogging. Take care.

Responses

  1. Hello Kathy, I lost my mother last month after a short 4-month battle with cancer. I’m relating to and enjoying your writing. I’m sorry for your loss, know that your words are helpful. I started writing about my own experiences during the last five months @ Mints in my Mother’s Purse. Here’s the link if you’re interested. Thank you. http://mintsinmymotherspurse.blogspot.com/

    • Hi Adrienne: I’m sorry you lost your mom to cancer in such a short time. Thank you for your kind comments. I will definitely check out your site. The name reminds me of my grandmother, who always had those starlight peppermints in her purse :-). Thanks for brightening my day with a special memory. Take care.

  2. So good to see your writing entry, and your beautifully flowered arbor, once again!

  3. The rest of the activities in my life often keep me from my blog too. We all do the best we can. I am glad when you post but understand when you don’t.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

