Posted by: Kathy | April 24, 2013

Daily Prompt: Stranger

Yesterday’s daily prompt from WordPress was “have you ever had a random encounter or fleeting moment with a stranger that stuck with you?” I am a day late, but I want to share with you an encounter I had with a stranger shortly after my mom died.

On December 12, 2008, I stopped at a local grocery store to pick up a few things for dinner. I did not grab a basket because I really only needed two things from the store. Plus the store was crowded and I had no idea where to find a basket since I had only been to this particular store once or twice before. It was convenient – the store was close to the TKD academy and I had to get my son from class. I just wanted to grab what I needed and leave.

I was in a really bad mood. It had been a rough day for me, a sad day, as my thoughts were filled with the death of my mom less than a month before. So I really didn’t feel like taking the time to shop, much less find a basket in a store full of people. But, of course, I picked up more things than I originally planned to, and there I was juggling a bunch of stuff. As I was quickly trying to make my way to the registers I dropped something. Each time I bent over to pick up what I had dropped, something else fell off my stack of groceries. I’m sure I looked like a bumbling idiot and no one stopped to help me. At that point, all I wanted to do was drop the stuff where I stood and walk out the door. My frustration level was high and my mood was very dark.

As I struggled with my groceries, a girl walked over to me and began picking up what I had dropped. She was probably about 7 or 8 years old, not an age when most kids would stop to help a stranger. She helped me carry my groceries to a checkout line and made sure I had everything. I thanked her and she walked away, never saying a word. I saw her again as I was leaving, it was almost like she was watching me, waiting in a way, as she stood near the end of the register where I paid for my stuff. As I was leaving, I thanked her again and told her how much I appreciated her help. Again, she did not say a word.

This girl not only helped me with my groceries, she broke through my dark mood. What she did touched my heart. After putting the grocery bags in the trunk, I sat in my car and asked God to bless her, saying a word of thanks for what she had done for me. I do not know why this girl stopped to help me, and I didn’t see anyone with her. Maybe for the few minutes that she was helping me, she was an angel in disguise. I don’t know. I was truly at my breaking point the moment this girl chose to walk over and help me. But she did more than just help carry my stuff, she broke through my inner darkness and filled my emptiness with the kindness of her gesture, while never saying a word.

To this day, almost four and a half years later, I still remember what this girl did for me, not only physically, but also emotionally.

Responses

  1. Sometimes a child can touch us in a way noone else can.
    What a lovely story, Kathy. Thank you for sending me over to read it.

  2. I believe without a shadow of a doubt that we encounter angels in disguise. My encounter involved my car getting stuck in a VERY busy intersection – totally non-functioning, dead. Before I even got out of the car, two strong guys appeared and told me to get back into the car and steer while they moved the car through the intersection and safely to the side of the road. Immediately after setting the parking brake on the side of the road, I looked in my rear view mirror looking for my helpers – no one. I quickly got out of my car to try to find the the two guys so I could thank them – no one. Those were fast angels to be sure!!!

    • What a wonderful story. Thanks for sharing. Yes, I believe that not only are angels watching over us, they are also walking among us. Take care.

  3. Sounds like your mom sent her 🙂

    • A friend said the same thing. Could be. She was there when I needed someone. Thanks for commenting. Take care.

  4. Wow Kathy!  I got chills (good ones) when reading this post!  What an amazing story; God knew you needed her at that very moment and brought her kindness to you.  I’m so glad that she was there to bring a little light into your life at a time that was filled with so much sadness.   God Bless that WONDERFUL little girl!   Thank you for sharing such a fantastic story.   Claudia

    ________________________________

    • Thanks Claudia. I will never forget her. Love ya!


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

