Posted by: Kathy | August 21, 2014

Dreaming to See My Mom Again

In previous posts, I’ve written about the handful of dreams I’ve had about my mom since she died. They are few and far between. I don’t dream a lot, and when I do I don’t remember my dreams. When I have dream about my mom, I write it down because it’s something I treasure. A glimpse of my mom for just a minute. A moment with my mom again, even if it’s in my dreams.

About a month and a half after my mom died, a poem came to me while I was driving. As soon as I parked, I found an envelope or receipt in my car and wrote the poem down. After a few refinements I shared what I had written, eventually placing it on this blog a few years ago. Today, I shared it on SLAP’D.

That poem was one of the first posts I put on this blog site. It’s been almost 6 years since I wrote this poem, and I’d like to share it again. Maybe I’m not alone in what I’m feeling. Dreams are the only way I can see my mom again.

Find Me In My Dreams

I think about you every day,
your face engraved in my mind,
but I have yet to see you in my dreams

and each night it’s what I hope to find.

I talk to you before I fall asleep,
to your picture I say “good night”.
I wish you’d visit me in my dreams,
it would be such a wonderful sight.

To see the beauty of your face,
to feel the warmth of your smile,
please come find me in my dreams,
stay for just a little while.

I wish we’d had more time together,
it’s really hard to believe you’re gone.
There’s so much I need to tell you,
I’m trying so hard to be strong.

But living life without you
is much harder than I thought it would be.
Please come find me in my dreams tonight,
Mom, please come visit me. 

I read this poem and I am taken back to the cold, sunny winter day when I wrote it. The feelings I express in this poem haven’t changed. I hope to see my mom again in my dreams very soon. I still miss you, Mom, and I will always love you.

Responses

  1. I still have dreams of my mother and it will now be 5 years on October 24th, love your poem!
    -Matt

    • Hi Matt. I apologize for my delayed response. I’m glad you liked my poem. I am also glad you still dream of your mom. Take care.

  2. Thanks Kathy..I couldn’t have expressed it any better. I lost my mum to breast cancer last November and I’ve been praying to meet my mum in my dreams but they are far between or simply cos I cant recall my dreams. I miss my mum so so so much

    • Hi. Sorry to the delay in replying. I am so sorry about the loss of your mom. I miss my mom too. I wish you the best. Take care.

  3. Well-spoken/written. Bless you.

    • Thank you :-).


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

