Posted by: Kathy | September 17, 2014

Happy Birthday, Mom

Today would have been my mom’s 71st birthday. I wrote a poem in honor and memory of her.

My Heart Is Dark

My heart is dark
because I remember your smile
that could brighten a room
with radiating warmth.

My heart is dark
because I remember your voice,
with reassuring words
that could calm any fear.

My heart is dark
because I remember your love,
the depths of which
only a mom could give.

My heart is dark
because so much has changed,
life is very different
without you.

My heart is dark
because of who you were
and all that you did.
I miss the way you cared.

My heart is dark
because today is your birthday
and you’re not here.
We remember you in our hearts.

Happy Birthday, Mom. I miss you and will always love you.


Responses

  1. Absolutely beautiful. Mom passed In January and her birthday was September 14. I miss her. Thanks for sharing. Here is a tribute a dear friend of mine made in her honor.
    “Good Night” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UN41VpJQ5zY&list=UU52CzAlrqWAewuMaXnydt9A

    • Hi. I’m so sorry it took me so long to respond to your comment. Thank you for your kind words. This time of year, starting with my mom’s birthday, is really rough for me. So many reminders of days from 6 years ago. Christmas hasn’t been the same since my mom died because she made it so special for all of us. So this time of year I either write a lot or go silent. I’ve been in silent mode lately. Thanks for sharing the tribute. It’s beautiful. I love the part about “it’s never goodbye but goodnight.” I never said goodbye to my mom at her funeral. I never will say goodbye to her. I always tell her how much I miss her. I wish you all the best. Take care.


Tell me what you're thinking:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories