Posted by: Kathy | October 6, 2015

The Diagnosis

My previous blog was my first attempt at acrostic writing for the second Writing 201: Poetry assignment. My first poem was about a beautiful gift. The day I write about below was the beginning of a living nightmare.

They came early one Tuesday evening, are you all
Home, he asked over the phone? And I knew this situation was
Entirely wrong
Dread filled every crevice of my being, as
I waited for my parents to
Arrive, my stomach sinking further with the sound of the door opening
Grandparents kissing grandchildren, who were then sent off to play
Now the truth would be revealed, news
Of the kind that could only be heartbreaking, as my dad
Spoke the words, “Mom has pancreatic cancer”
I stood frozen, rooted to the floor, unbelieving of the
Storm that would take my mom from me

Responses

  1. Oh my. This is really really a sad news. But you have told it with creatively chosen words. Nice one!

  2. Dear Kathy,
    I lost my father to liver cancer, and he suffered terribly at the end. I feel your pain, and send you healing thoughts. Yes, the dread one feels at hearing such a diagnosis can fill every part of one, and is stomach-clutching.
    This is a moving poem!

  3. Thanks Cathy. My mom has been gone for almost 7 years. I started this blog in her memory and as a way of healing.

  4. I am so sorry. I could feel your distress!

    • Thank you. That day was almost 7 years ago, but I can still feel it in my heart.

  5. Oh no!

    • Unfortunately, it’s true. But I wrote from the heart and writing helps me. Thanks for reading.

      • I hear ya! I write for therapy too. I hope al, goes well for your mom.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

