Posted by: Kathy | October 7, 2015

The Season’s First Snow

The third assignment for Writing 201: Poetry is skin, prose poetry, and internal rhyme. I guess in a way I tried all three, as the leaves and snow in my prose poem are like a skin covering the ground. I also dabbled with internal rhyme. This was a difficult one for me – my first attempt at prose poetry and internal rhyme. Enjoy!

My favorite warm fall days disappear each year, replaced by wintry coldness and snow. Although I shiver and shake when these days arrive, it is t0 the stifling humid summer heat I say “stay away.” The beauty of winter, its blankets of snow, and icicles that bring tree branches so low. I have my reasons for my choice of seasons, even though my family argues that I like summer more. “No,” I shout, “you’ve got it wrong, you know I prefer cold to hot!” Soon snow will blanket the ground like leaves did a few months ago. Around and around the red-orange leaves once twirled, around and around the icy snowflakes swirl. As months passed by and the grounded leaves dried, the once soft red-orange carpet became a layer of crispy brown.

Then the fall winds said goodbye and winter winds took over the sky, bringing pure white swirls of the season’s first snow. It’s snowing, it’s snowing, and panic begins as the flow of life starts to slow. The storm strengthens and the swirls change formation, becoming a free fall wall of white from the sky to the ground. The brown leaves quickly vanish from sight, changed to icy white blankets of flakes. And the silence, oh that peaceful silence, as everyday life now halts with the storm. People huddle in their homes to keep warm. And a toss-up of wishes hinge on the length of the storm. Kids scream with joy, dreaming of no school for weeks. While adults curse the snow and ice that stopped their busy lives, listening for the plows to clear the ever-deepening piles.

Night creeps in, silent as the snow, violent blowing wind driving flakes against windows. An icy whiteness now layers the ground, soundlessly coating all that was once red-orange then brown. The view through my frosted window reveals the beauty of pristine icy white snow, as my delighted eyes spy the moon peaking through the night’s cloudy sky.

Responses

  1. Though I’m not a fan of winter, snow or cold, I enjoyed your poem and its striking images. Thank you!

    • Thank you! I love the beauty and peacefulness of a snow fall. Shoveling snow – not really. Driving in it sometimes scares me. I don’t mind the cold as much as the wet, sticky heat we get here in the summer.

      • I’ve already dug out my winter coat and it’s only in the sixties here. I just can’t abide cold. However, I don’t mind shoveling snow. It’s a great workout and I always follow it up with some confection as a reward–one confection for each neighbor I aid.

  2. Oh such a lovely image you have created and I’m not a fan of Winter! 🙂

    • My family argues with me that in the winter I complain of the cold and wish for summer. NOT. Give me spring or fall, but not a NJ summer with no AC in my car. I might be cold, but I can put on lots of clothes. Thanks for reading.

  3. Thank you. 🙂

  4. I love your prose poetry! It stirs a strong image of autumn slipping away into winter.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

