Posted by: Kathy | October 8, 2015

Limericks of My Family and Me

The fourth Writing 201: Poetry assignment asks us to write about the imperfect nature of someone or something. The suggested form is a limerick. I wrote limericks about my family, including myself and all of our pets. This was lots of fun. Enjoy!

Spirited Daughter
My daughter is hard to explain

She speeds through life like a bullet train
But then there are days
When she just can’t find her way
Causing tiny explosions to pop in my brain

My Daughter – The Sunshine of My Life
I call her my sunshine in many ways
Her happiness brightens the darkest of days
A smile on her face
She sets her own pace
Her
 bright mood never sways

Teenage Son
To all he appears respectful and shy

He’s also known as a caring, fun-loving guy
But I wonder and shout
When the teen ‘tude comes out

The change makes me cringe and cry

My Son, The Future Marine
Semper fi will be his motto it seems
Serving his country more than a dream
Patriot through and though
I am so proud, but a little scared too
My son, the future Marine

My Hubby, My Marriage
We’ve been married almost 13 years
Sharing love, laugher, anger, and tears
I know I can say
We’ve had more good than bad days

But sometimes all is not as it appears

Me, Me, Me
What is like to be me
I zoom around like a buzzing bee
Then days come
When nothing gets done
Lazy as a sleeping sloth in a tree

Max Cat
A fat ball of black and white fur
A tuxedo who meows and purrs
Sleeps on my feet
Claws at my sheets
He’s lazy but can run like a blur

The Other Cat – Smokey
He can disappear like a puff of smoke

And has earned the nickname Joke
Completely black
The perfect Halloween cat
I wonder what he’d say if he spoke

Jade – The Nutty Lab-Malamute
A mixed breed I found online

Traveling many hours to become mine
Always bugs me to play
But so lovable in every way
She is one of a kind

Agile, klutzy, sweet, and more
Slams her head on the door
Graceful as a gazelle
Rips through trash until I yell
This dog is never a bore

Nina – The Designer Dog
The smallest of our zoo

My husband’s dog, that is so true
Sleeps on my office floor
Letting out loud, long snores
I wake her, what else can I do

Misty – The Oldest of Our Zoo
Once a puppy all of white
Eleven years later she’s a beautiful sight
Still agile and spry
I wouldn’t call her shy
She growls at all others, but would never bite

Responses

  1. Oh my gosh, these are so great!! Funny and touching. Each one just so perfect!

    • Thank you. Writing about my whacky family was lots of fun.

      • They sounds wacky and beautiful!

        • I don’t know who’s crazier – my daughter or my dog. LOL.

          • Funny! I’ve got my daughter’s dog and he’s a nut, but fun.

  2. Absolutely beautiful ❤ I especially love what you wrote about your daughter =)

    • Thank you so much. She is one of a kind 😊.

  3. Kelly it is nice to met you here at your blog. I’ve been browsing a bit; thanks for sending me a like.

    • Thanks for browsing around my site. And thanks for the comment. Looking forward to reading more of your writing. Take care, Kathy

  4. Nice collection!

    • Thanks. I didn’t have as many at first but when I read them to my daughter she said what about Misty and Nina, so I added two. Then I thought of the Marine one for my son, so of course I had to add another for my daughter.😄

  5. Wow! So proliferic! And lots of fun to read.

    • Thank you. They were lots of fun to write.

  6. And I had trouble turning out one! ::sigh:: Yours are SO wonderful!

    • Thank you!

  7. I loved reading each and every one of those! What a beautiful tribute to your family through some wonderful and quirky limericks 🙂 xx

    • Than you so much. My family is quirky 😊. I enjoyed writing about them.

  8. Love these as a grouping.

    • Thank you 😀

  9. This remind me of a poem my son wrote about his sister, calling her a whirlwind.

    • My daughter is a whirlwind too. I call her the smart airhead, since she can be kind of spacy at times. But she’s always happy and full of hugs and love. Thanks for commenting.

  10. Wow, I’m in awe, Kathy! So many of them, and they’re funny and touching and … wow 😀

    • I have many family members when I include my pets. Thank you for your comment!!

  11. nice introduction to your extended family..this course is fun, isn’t it?

    • It is fun. A nice way to stretch my writing abilities, or at least try to. Thanks for your comment.

  12. Oh my! Kathy, you’ve done a splendid job! Am absolutely awed at it.Really well done!

    • Thank you so much. Writing about my family comes easier to me than writing about other topics.

  13. Beautiful! They each draw such vivid pictures. Thank you!

    • Thank you. I cried when I wrote the one about my son and the Marines. It just came to me and I had to add. So then, of course, I had to add a second about my daughter. Thanks for your comment!

      • You’re welcome. I enjoyed reading your limericks.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

