Posted by: Kathy | October 11, 2015

Inanimate Faces

The assignment for day 6 of Writing 201: Poetry is Faces, Found Poetry, and Chiasmus. I thought a lot about the face I wanted to focus on – my kids, my mom, one or several of my many pets. I’m surrounded by faces every day, pictures of my family are all over the house. My home office is filled with pictures of my kids and loved ones I’ve lost and miss deeply. But instead of focusing on any of the faces in these pictures, I used a different face and tried my hand at chiasmus.clock

Your face is in thousands of places,
thousands of places your face is in,
instilling a range of emotions
with a single glance your way.

It doesn’t matter if you’re plain
or ornately decorated with multicolored jewels,
you never fail to produce a reaction.
Relief or panic, panic or relief.

You don’t even realize the power you hold,
one look at your face could lead to
a quickening of step
or a break into an all out run.

Millions of people look at your face,
your face has been looked at millions of times.
With each look someone sees something different.
With each look someone feels something different.

You don’t know the power your face holds.
You don’t know the many emotions you produce.
You don’t know how many people look at you each day.
You don’t know the look on their face in return.

But how could you know
that one person feels hope and anticipation,
another fear and dread,
with only a brief look your way?

Always moving and changing, but inanimate,
placed in a specific location to be seen.
Your eyeless face has no sight,
and in some places your face has been replaced
with a line of glowing digital numbers.

Responses

  1. This is so great … your personification of a clock. I love that technique with inanimate objects or emotions. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you for taking time to comment.

  2. Great job Kathy! I like the way your Chiasmus lines… and the way you expressed! 🙂

    • Thanks – I liked trying chiasmus. 🙂

  3. I enjoyed this 😊 Great job!

    • Thank you so much! 🙂

      • You are welcome!

  4. I love your take on this

    • Thank you – I had many faces to choose from. Glad this one worked.

  5. This is lovely. What a creative approach– and with multiple chiasmuses (? chiasmi?)

    • LOL – I had never heard of chiasmus until this assignment. I’m glad you liked it. Thanks for your comment :-).

  6. LIKE! Very thought provoking. Great job!

    • Thank you so much!


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

