Posted by: Kathy | October 17, 2015

Our Last Poetry Assignment

Our final Writing Poetry: 201 assignment was pleasure for the topic, sonnet for the form, and apostrophe (personifying an object) as the device. This has been one long and stressful week for me at work, but I couldn’t rest last night until I had written this final assignment. Although exhausted, I wrote well past midnight last night to finish this, since as usual my brain kicked in as soon as I shut my eyes to sleep.

I’m not sure how well it hit the sonnet – I used the form of ABAB CDCD EFEF GG in 8 then 6 lines.

Oh how to end this course on a happy note
after a fast-paced, deadline-looming work week.
I savor thoughts of poems I’ve read and ones I’ve wrote,
a memory that is becoming most bittersweet.
My stressful, panicked, rat race work day
could not dampen my spirit.
This week’s house of cards finally fell our way,
sharing in my son’s happiness when he was issued an official driving permit.

My weekend will be filled with the music of high school bands
performing in competitions called Music in Motion.
I will listen and cheer in support from the stands,
hoping first place is more than just a notion.
Although my body aches and I am way beyond tired
the experience of Writing 201: Poetry has left my brain feeling inspired.

Happy future writing to all and I hope we meet again soon.

Responses

  1. Wonderful!

    • Thanks so much!! An inspiration of my week.

  2. What a great way to end this experience. Thanks for including the highs and the lows! πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you. The highs certainly helped with the lows. My first sonnet. Take care. πŸ˜€

  3. I love this – it wraps up our Poetry class just nicely, and tells a story of your week. Have a lovely weekend, Kathy!

    • Thanks so much. What a crazy week and a busy weekend. A game and 2 competitions. I hope your weekend is nice as well. 😎

      • Thank you, my weekend is nice and quiet πŸ™‚

  4. Hey Kat, despite your hectic sched you still have a great poem.. Such a great poet! Hope to see you in next class…

    • Thank you so much. I’ve been inspired by your writing. I plan on getting involved with the next class. Take care.

      • Your welcome Kathy, glad to know that you’ve been inspired by my works, it’s my pleasure.. see you there.. God Bless… πŸ™‚

  5. Aww sounds like you have a great weekend ahead. I’m glad we connected. πŸ™‚ this class has been great! I like your poem; it’s cut straight from the heart.

    • Busy weekend but band sounded great yesterday. Another competition today. I’m so glad we connected too. I hope we keep in touch. πŸ˜„

      • I will; count on it. This weekend’s hectic but I’ll get back to your email hopefully later.

  6. I love this! Can share the sentiments expressed. Bittersweet. Inspiring. One of the most wonderful rides, ever.

    • Thank you 😊


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

