Posted by: Kathy | October 21, 2015

This Time of Year

I trip and I stumble, so many emotions,
too many to deal with this time of year.
Thoughts drift from present to past like waves of an ocean,
bringing feelings of sadness and tears.
These last few weeks leading up to the day
that pancreatic cancer took you from me.
I find myself wishing more than I can say
for the way things used to be.

Seven years have passed, words cannot begin,
to describe the impact of your loss.
I would do anything to have you here again,
no matter what the cost.
I don’t know why death decided to pull our family apart
but you will always live in my memories and my heart.

Responses

  1. Beautiful, Kathy. Our loved ones will always live in our hearts, forever. Hugs.

    • Thank you. Yes, they are always in our hearts, but sometimes I wish there was more. *Hugs*

  2. Heartbreakingly beautiful post, Kathy!  Praying for you my friend.  I know this is a very difficult time of year for you. Love you! Claudia

    • Agree on all counts! I’m sending digital *Hugs* your way. You captured the essence of loss in this one and expressed it so beautifully.

      • Thank you…and it’s a sonnet – my second one. *HUGS* back to you.

      • LOL – now it’s a sonnet. I missed some of the rhyming the first time around.

        • I really like it. You did a great job on it. 🙂

    • Thank you my friend. Love you too, Claudia!


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

