Posted by: Kathy | November 2, 2015

My Wish List of No Cancer

The assignment for day 2 of Writing 101 is to make of list of things I like, things I’ve learned, or things I wish. This is my wish.

I wish we lived in a world without cancer,
the disease that took you from me.
To not have to hear people classified
as malignant or cancer-free.

I wish for no more radiation and chemo,
or that day when we were told
that there was no more need for treatment.
The cancer would never let you get old.

I wish I could turn the clock back
and give you the last 7 years
to spend laughing with your grandkids,
instead of all those days filled with tears.

I wish I could walk into your kitchen,
to see you sitting with your tea and crossword.
To have you just say my name again,
oh what a joyous sound to be heard.

I wish I could reach out and touch you
to give you a hug and a kiss.
It is the love you had for all of us
that I most deeply miss.

I wish I could share a Christmas with you,
holidays aren’t the same now that you’re gone.
To eat pumpkin bread and chocolate chip cake
and then talk all night long.

So many wishes I have for you
if only you were still here.
I do so many things differently
with a grin from ear to ear.

Responses

  1. Kathy, I’m so sorry to hear about your Mom. I too wish we lived in a cancer free world.

    • Thank you so much.

  2. I can feel your heart in your poem. I know how you love your mom that’s why your poem touched my heart most… God Bless dear…

    • Thank you. I miss my mom and all she added to this family and to our lives. God bless!

  3. My sister just lost her husband to cancer a month ago. It’s a terrible disease. I’m sorry for your loss.

    • Yes, it’s a horrible disease and affects so many people. I’m sorry for your sister’s loss and your loss too. Take care.

  4. Your posts make me teary eyed.. God bless you dear.

    • Awe. May God bless you as well.

  5. I wish I can give you hug right now. I have feeling you might use some warmth! hugs friend!

    • Thank you. This is a hard time of year for me. The anniversary of my mom’s death is coming up very soon. *HUGS*

  6. a very moving poem, and one we can all relate to I imagine. x

    • Yes, there is too much cancer in this world.

  7. Beautiful poem and what a coincidence–I just made sweet potato bread. It smells like the pumpkin bread I grew up on. 🙂

    • Yum – that sounds really good. 🙂

      • It was though it came a trifle sweet 🙂


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

