Posted by: Kathy | November 3, 2015

A List of What I’ve Learned and Love

This is my second attempt for the day 2 assignment for Writing 101. My first list was a poem of what I wished for – no more cancer. When I told my son what I had written, he said “why do you always write things that are dark.” I didn’t see it as dark. But I was inspired to write another list after reading what others had written.

This is a mixed list of things I love and what I’ve learned:

  • Nothing is more beautiful than a crisp Autumn day with colorful leaves
  • There is no sweeter sound than hearing your child say “I love you” and knowing they mean it
  • I have made many mistakes, learned from them, and keep moving forward
  • It is important to make sure the people in your life know how you feel about them
  • Dream big and take chances because one day a dream could come true
  • I love the sound and feel of a crackling fire on a cold winter day
  • The silence the comes with a snowfall is so incredibly peaceful
  • Making time for yourself can make all the difference in the world
  • I always make sure to tell my kids that I love them every day
  • There is a point in a child’s life when you have to let them fly on their own and trust they will make the right decisions
  • Pets add so much love and happiness to my life
  • Family doesn’t mean have to mean blood
  • Treat people with kindness and it will be returned in some way
  • Forgiveness is important; don’t hold on to anger because it will eat away at your heart
  • I love music – all types – the words and notes speak to my heart and soul
  • You may not always get what you want in life, learn to appreciate what you have
  • If you’ve made a mistake, say you’re sorry – not everyone will admit they are wrong
  • Trust has to be earned; once it’s lost it is hard to get back again
  • Laugh, laugh, laugh
  • I love a good steak, dark chocolate, my morning coffee, Peeps, a cold beer, and a shot of Jack – not all at the same time

I hope to learn more in life and add to my list of things I love.

Responses

  1. Thank you so much Kathy, you articulated this so very well. I would have said pretty much the same things, but you’ve saved me thr trouble!

    • I also wanted to say how very sorry I am for losing your mother. It must be a terrible thing to watch someone go that way. I wish you and your family all the best.

      Emily

    • LOL, thanks Emily. Take care.

    • Thanks, Emily. It wasn’t easy to watch to pancreatic cancer steal the life from my mom. But I came out on the other side a stronger person. Thanks for commenting. Take care.

      • My aunt died many years ago from pancreatic cancer. I was a child growing up in another city, and didn’t witness anything (even if I’d been near her, I doubt my parents would have let me near her in the final stage), but I know what my uncle went through from his later accounts, and it was the least dignified death I’ve ever heard of. I am grateful that you’re educating people about this disease, and I’m sure your Mum would be proud of you for doing so.

        Emily

        • Thank you so much. Pancreatic cancer turned my mom into a walking skeleton. Yes, it is an extremely undignified death.

  2. “It is important to make sure the people in your life know how you feel about them”
    When I learned that, it was accompanied by another lesson: do not expect for people to reciprocate the feeling. Bittersweet.
    You made a good list. Thanks for sharing.

    • How very true. Thanks for visiting

  3. This is AWESOME!!  🙂

    • Thank you my friend

  4. Thanks for sharing the little anecdote and exchange with your son.

    I included this assignment of writing a list (especially of things we like) to remind us of all the little things, each day, that make us smile. It’s such an easy, positive exercise to get our fingers typing, and something you can do again and again — the prompt doesn’t get old!

    • I completely agree. And there are many I didn’t include that keep coming to mind. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. I am so sorry for your loss. I won’t try and give you any advice. I have suffered many losses and I always kind of rejected other’s advice because no one really knows how you feel and what works for you. I will simply say, that for me I have created my safe, comforting space. I go there and just keep putting one foot in front of the other, breathe in and breathe out. Blessings ❤

    • Thank you. I am sorry for your losses. In 8 years time, I lost 6 important people from my life, 5 of them family members to death. So hard. I don’t give advice either. I write so that maybe someone can relate and know they are not alone in what they feel. Thanks for stopping by. Blessings to you as well.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

