Posted by: Kathy | November 4, 2015

Hope: The Black and the White

The day 3 assignment from Writing 101 is one-word inspiration. This assignment asks us to select one word from a list of choices and write about it. The words to choose from are:

Hope
Regret
Home
Choice
Abundance
Secret

My the choice was easy – hope. I see hope as a word of opposites, depending on the situation.

The Black and White of Hope

Hope,
depending on the situation,
it’s the grey between black and white,
and can be tinged with darkness or light.

Hope,
the whisper of a prayer,
or shouts from yearnings inside.
It’s a word that keeps me asking why.

Hope,
a twisty roller coaster
or a smooth river with no bends.

How will this journey end?

Hope,
a warm soothing bath
or a splash of ice water on the face
.

Am I slowly jogging or in a frantic race?

Hope
can evoke endless nightmares
or cradle me in sweet dreams
.

I wait on the outcome before my heart bursts at the seams.

Hope
is cold fear waiting to subside
or can 
laced with burning desire.

I always feel like I am teetering on a high wire.

Hope,
a tight embrace of empathy
or a reassuring squeeze of the hand

Waiting for the end is like sifting through sand.

Hope,
a dark and angry brewing storm
or a bright sunny day.

Will I end up finding my way?

Hope
leaves me dangling from a single thin thread
or gives me a solid ledge to stand on.

Will all be ok or go terribly wrong?

Hope,
a journey that could shatter my heart

or end with a sigh of relief
I pray that the ground is not swept
 from under my feet.

~~~~~~~~

The opposites I see with hope come from when my mom was battling pancreatic cancer. We all had hope, my mom most of all. But my hope was very different from hers. While none of us ever gave up hope that my mom would beat this disease, my hope was tinged with darkness because of the knowledge of how deadly pancreatic cancer is, while my mom’s hope was always tinged with white. My mom held onto the dream of dancing with son at his wedding – he was only 9 years old at the time.

 

Responses

  1. This post is full of emotion. I am officially a fan.

    • Oh, thank you. You touch my heart.

      • You’ve touched our hearts! 🙂

  2. I love the picture of two ends of hope. This is beautifully written. I am sorry for your loss.

    • Thank you.

  3. Very nice Kathy… 🙂 … Every lines could connect to everyone… You are so talented and strong daughter…

  4. Really like your blog!

    • Thank you. I’d like to check out more of yours.

  5. I always LOVE reading your writing!  So talented! Love ya my friend! Claudia

    • Thank you, my friend. Writing this was cathartic.

  6. You have a strong and lovely spirit!

    • Thank you. That means a lot to me.

  7. Kathy, this is beautiful. I’ve never thought of hope having opposite aspects/ends…but it’s so true. Thank you for sharing such a powerful piece. You are a very talented writer, it’s a pleasure to read your posts! This resonated with me:

    “Hope, a warm soothing bath
    or a splash of ice water on the face.
    Am I slowly jogging or in a frantic race?”

    • Thank you. With the anniversary of my mom’s death coming up on 11/16, I float between now and 7 years ago. The hope we all had that ended in a way no one wanted. It wasn’t until I read this assignment that I realized the two sides of hope.

  8. Very profound. I loved it

    • Thank you. I had to write it. I had hope for so long and in the end my heart was shattered, my world blew apart. It took me years to pick up all the pieces and be me again.

      • It’s not about how long it took you to do it but the fact that you did. I can never imagine the pain of losing a parent but I know it’s no easy feat. I applaud your strength to write about it and share your story with us all. You are helping so many people! You are what they call a warrior. You survived.

        • Thank you. I did survive, and now I want to help others do the same.

          • That’s what it is all about.

  9. Very, very nice ❤ So creative

    • Thank you – it took a lot of thought.

  10. I love the way you define it in terms of opposites. Well done! 🙂

    • Thank you so much. 🙂


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

