Posted by: Kathy | November 5, 2015

Waiting on the Edge

The Day 4 assignment for Writing 101 is a story in a single image. The style of the poem I wrote to go along with this image was inspired by one of my favorite songs.

Woman-woods

Standing all alone,
I wait for you.
So far from my comfort zone,
I don’t know what to do.
Looking into the trees,
hoping I can see
more than shadows.

I long to see your outline
emerge from the trees.
Just a single sign
would bring me to my knees.
It has been so long,
I could write a country song,
oh how I miss you.

Should I try to find
you among the oaks?
I could weave and wind,
if only the trees spoke.
‘Cause if wander far,
I might miss where you are,
never seeing you.

Are you somewhere in the mist,
waiting silently for me?
Just to steal a kiss.
What a surprise that would be.
Or have your feelings changed
and we don’t feel the same?
It’s now only one-sided love.

A chill starts to fill the air
as the sun descends.
I wonder if you are there.
Or is this really just pretend?
Something in my mind.
A dream to pass the time.
A story all my own.

But as I start to walk away,
your voice echoes in the breeze,
calling out my name,
I run toward the trees
Flying into your arms
hasn’t lost its charm.
I belong to you.

Responses

  1. Kathy, I really like this. Keep writing! 🙂

    • Thank you. I don’t think I could ever stop writing. It’s in my blood.

  2. I enjoyed this 😊

    • I’m glad. Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

  3. This is very interesting read and I just want to drop you a note to tell you I enjoyed it very much! Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you so much for stopping by. Somehow I missed your comment until now. Take care.

      • You’re most welcome! Do drop by MiddleMe to say hi when you got the time. Looking forward in seeing your posts more often.

  4. You left me speechless, it is wonderful!

    • Thank you, so glad you liked it.

  5. Kathy, Loved your poem. It’s so nice and touching.

    • Thank you for stopping by!

  6. Beautiful piece. 🙂 ❤

    • Thank you.

  7. I love it.

    • Thank you!

  8. beautiful! I chose the same image but went in a different direction. I like your take, that breathless waiting. 🙂

    • Thanks so much. I’ve been in situations of breathless waiting and it’s hard on the heart.

      • yes it is and your poem captured that beautifully 🙂 I love that we chose the same image. Great minds!

  9. So lovely, Kathy. The words go perfectly well with the image. What is this favourite song of yours that inspired this, if I may ask?

    • Thank you. The song is Elton’s Song by Elton John. I first heard the song about 10 years ago and it touched me. The words spoke to me.

      • Thanks for sharing, Kathy. I will check it out:)

        • When writing this it was the flow of the tune I was hearing in my mind. Cadence I believe is the correct term.

          • I’m listening to the song as I type this. I think I understand what you mean. Lovely song; I can see why and how you were inspired by it.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

