Posted by: Kathy | November 15, 2015

Day 10: Let the Scene Write Itself

The ambulance pulled up to the emergency department entrance of the children’s hospital. No lights. No sirens. No rush from the paramedics as the back doors of the ambulance were opened, revealing a very young girl on the gurney inside. Her tiny body was nearly lost among the white sheets. Bandages covered her head, her eyes closed, body unmoving. Was there still a life to be saved or had hope been lost?

A pregnant woman emerged from the ambulance behind the gurney. The mother’s eyes rimmed red from crying, she placed one hand on the toddler lying on the gurney, while her other hand laid unconsciously on top of the life inside of her. A tall man with glasses appeared at her side. He draped his arm around his wife’s shoulders as he looked down at his daughter.

Suddenly the doors of the emergency department opened and out ran a physician wearing blue scrubs. He spoke briefly to the father as he gently lifted the girl off the gurney. Cradling her in his arms, he hurried back into the hospital. The only sound heard was the rhythmic tapping of his shoes on the white linoleum floor before the emergency room doors closed.

The couple slowly walked into the waiting area of emergency department. The mother held her head high, trying to be positive and strong, despite the obviously fear in her warm blue eyes. After talking with a nurse, the couple made their way to the waiting room for surgery patients. They sat close together for support, talking quietly. Every time someone came into the waiting room they quickly looked up, hoping for any information about their daughter. But people came and went so frequently that the couple stopped looking up. That is until their name was called.

The father stood quickly, helping his wife up from the chair as the surgeon approached. The doctor quickly explained to the couple the surgery that had just been performed on their daughter, taking the time to answer questions. The mother pulled a tissue from her purse and dabbed the tears from her eyes. The father shook the surgeon’s hand with gratitude. Their daughter was alive. At this moment they had a small ray of hope. The mother held her head high as she walked with her husband, following the surgeon to see her daughter.

~~~

A little background on this scene. It was taken from real life, part of my life story from June 1971. I’ve heard bits and pieces of this story throughout my life and it’s always been told to me without emotion and with little detail. Of course, I don’t remember anything. I had just turned 2 years old the month before. I cannot begin to imagine how scared my parents were that they would lose me. I beat the odds and have the scars as a reminder of how lucky I am. So when I saw this assignment, I took what I knew and tried to create something from it – a scene from a much longer story.

Responses

  1. Wow! You created the scene with your words vividly that I could picture it. Ah, you know, you have the Scars of a warrior! You fought and you survived. Amazing 😄❤

    • Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  2. Wow. That story was intense. I have no child yet but I experienced the same when I was 19 years old and may youngest sister was rushed to the hospital. She’s one-day old, a premature baby delivered at our home. She turned gray and I was holding her throughout our way to the hospital. It’s scary beyond words.

    I’m glad you’re fine, Kathy! 🙂

    • *my

    • Thanks! I can’t imagine how scared you were. I hope your sister is ok.

      • Yes. 🙂 She’s now four years old. 🙂 I can’t imagine how your mom and dad was feeling that time, too!

  3. What was wrong with the girl (you at age 2)? The story doesn’t say. I’m glad that she/you got better.

    • Yes, there is a lot more to this story, but I wasn’t sure how much to tell or even how to tell it. My parents believe I tried to climb out of my crib. I fell and hit my head on the crib rails or the floor or both. I was taken to a small local hospital, where I was operated on for a subdural hematoma (bleeding on the brain). My dad told me that about a day or 2 later, I stopped talking. He knew something was wrong and was told to get me to Children’s Hospital in Philadelphia. This is what I wrote about. The bleeding on my brain had reoccurred. I am very lucky.

      • wow you certainly are. The brain is one organ you don’t want mess with.

        • Very true, and that accident happened 44 years ago, long before all the technology and advances they have today in medicine.

          • yes your parents must have been very brave to shoulder those worries.

  4. Wow this is amazing great ending!

    • Thanks. Not sure if you read what I wrote in the commons…this is my story at age 2.

      • Omg really I must have not seen that I was skimming going back and fourth from your blog and mine I’m sorry. God bless!

        • No need to apologize. Really. I jump back and forth between blogs too, and I don’t always catch everything. I added some background information at the end. Thanks for reading.

          • Your welcome love I try to read as many blogs as possible 💋

            • Same here. I am off tomorrow and plan to do some reading.

              • Me too I need to organize my life I have so much paperwork to clean up and just fix up my blog alittle more and just see what I’m going to write this week ahead 🙂

                • I always take 11/16 off and that will be part of tomorrow’s post. Last week work was a killer, the weekend was busy, so the house still looks like several bombs went off. So much to do and never enough time.

                • Yes definitely not enough time ugh I try to post everyday even at night cause that’s my quiet time but my fiancé and daughter make me crazy ugh I need a vacation 😞

                • I know what you mean – I have 2 kids, a third if you count my husband :-). I’m glad to finally be caught up with my assignments. I hope you have a nice day off.

                • Thank u if that lol never a day off for me 🙄


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

