Posted by: Kathy | November 15, 2015

Day 9: Free Time

The assignment for day 9 of Writing 101 asks what do we do when we are not writing. Also, if we are a full-time writer, what would we do with some extra time in the day.

Writing is my life. It defines me both professionally and personally. Work is stressful and sometimes writing doesn’t come easy, even after days of research. I know what I need to write, but the words just don’t come out the way I want them to. There are times when I’ve written something, and I am so close to it that I need to step back and wait a day, if possible, before submitting something for work or posting it to my blog.

But I also need to unwind and relax to get ready for the next day. I need to reset my brain for another day of writing.

Family comes first as much as possible. I am grateful that I work for a company that believes this. I put in my hours at work, and what needs to get done is completed (I work from home). But if I have a family issue, I can take care of it. When I am done with my work day, I spend time with my kids. This often involves drop-offs, pick-ups, and many errands. But the running I do for my kids is worth it, no matter how exhausting it can get sometimes. My kids are the center of my world, and soon they will be off on their own. I want to make the most of the time we have now. We eat dinner together. Sometimes we watch a movie. We laugh and joke around, and this laughter can free me of all stress.

On weekdays, my “me time” comes when the kids are doing something on their own (homework, computer games, texting, etc) or are in bed. I read, do online crosswords, play games on my iPad, or catch up on my TV shows. Sometimes I write because I want to write. Nothing is more relaxing than laying around in my pjs with my dog (or dogs or a dog and a cat) sleeping next to me.

image

image

If I could add extra time to my day I would ask for 1 hour where I could completely focus on something without any distraction. Preferably it would be for personal writing. But if it needed to be for cleaning, that’s fine too. Just one free hour during which I could focus on a single task is all I ask for. I could do so much with that time.

Responses

  1. Scarlett79 makes a good point. I’d better go claim my hour!

    • I hope you get to do what you want. Have a great day!

  2. I think extra time ends up like extra money, you’ll pay a bill or extra space you’ll get more stuff. Extra time would end up getting spent on something other than what you want it for. So forget about an extra hour, just take one of the 24 that we have and use it for what you want. I think we owe it to ourselves. Blessings ❤

    • I agree. It happens now. I have an extra moment and something fills it. I once said to my dad that I wanted to do online classes to get a higher degree (PharmD or a science-related Master’s degree). He told me I was crazy to try to cram that into my already overflowing life. If I could get that one extra hour I would try to devote it to personal writing. There will come a time when I will have lots of free time. My son will be in the military, my daughter in college or making a career for herself. Honestly, I am not ready for that. So I guess I would trade any free time for myself to have quality time with my kids. Thanks for commenting. Take care. 😊


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

