Posted by: Kathy | December 7, 2015

Day 1: Magic of Laughter

The first assignment of Writing 101: Poetry asks us to “write about something you did that made you feel young again, or maybe about that difficult undertaking you finally completed. You might also take inspiration from a dream that came true, or from a difficult situation resolved in a fairytale-like ending. Of course, everyday magic (or even failed magic) works too!”

To me nothing is more magical than the sound of laughter, especially when you laugh with your kids.

When you were young
I dried your tears,
I sat with you at night
to chase away your fears,
you grew up before my eyes,
watching you change over the years.
But I could always make you laugh.

From mother to son, then son to mother
we’ve been here for one another.
Not always agreeing, there have been fights
but we always make up before saying goodnight.
I’ve tried to guide you the best I can
as I’ve watched you grow from boy to man,
and we continued to make each other laugh.

After all this time,
the passing of many years,
through all the heartache
and rivers of tears,
you eased my sadness
and calmed my fears
because you can always make me laugh.

 

Responses

  1. Wonderful! I can’t give you a favorite line, because I love every word! I am sure this resonates with many of us who have raised children.

    • Thank you. I have about a year and a half left before my son goes off with the military, probably Marines. Then I have my daughter, but she’s only in 4th grade.

  2. This is lovely. These two lines are particularly touching as well as good advice to take away from your poem: “Not always agreeing, there have been fights
    but we always make up before saying goodnight.”

    • Thanks, Melinda. I don’t believe in going to bed angry and it’s a rule I try to hold with everyone in my life. Peaceful dreams are better than angry thoughts. Besides, the last thing my son says to me at night before he closes his door is “love you.”

      • Aw that’s wonderful. My parents taught me to never go to bed angry as well and that anything over 24 hours old is done. You have to let it go. So it’s best to get what’s bothering you off your chest before that 24 hour time limit is up. Basically that just reinforces the ‘don’t go to bed med’ thing. 🙂

  3. Beautiful, it resonates with me and my life very well! 🙂

    • Thank you so much. I’m glad you have laughter in your life.

      • You are welcome Kathy!

  4. I am so going to bomb in poetry. But this is very lovely and very true. Laughter can do so much for a person going through very tough times. It makes it all worth it. Laughing makes me happy and also for making others laugh as well.

    • I am sure you won’t bomb at poetry. I have not had time to read anything written by anyone else yet. I only wrote because this came to me. I agree – laughter can do wonders like diffuse a fight or just make someone smile. When my son laughed as a baby, you couldn’t help but laugh too. We still laugh and it’s a good thing.

      • 🙂

  5. That is my son also! You write so tenderly and lovingl

    • Thank you for your comment.

  6. this is lovely. I do enjoy poems such as this, which is exressive and tender, and relative.

    • Thank you. It’s easy to be expressive when it comes to my family.

  7. Great post Kathy!

    • Thank you!


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

