Posted by: Kathy | December 9, 2015

Ode to Sleep

You eluded me as a young child,
making nights long and wild.
I dreaded when the sun would set,
for a night’s sleep I would not get.

Then college years showed me that a beer or few
erased the long-standing gap between me and you.
Sleeping, passed out, who cared about words,
although mornings could bring a lot of hurt.

When I became a true adult we finally seemed to agree
that I needed you and you wanted me.
Except for 2 am feedings or my early alarm,
we nearly always fit together like a two-piece charm.

Oh sleep, you were once a word I could not bear,
now you’re an escape into a world where I don’t have a care.

 

My assignment for day 3 of Writing 101: Poetry on sleep.

Responses

  1. delightfully done!! bravo!!

    • Thank you so much!

  2. This is great Kathy. Especially these lines “that I needed you and you wanted me.
    Except for 2 am feedings or my early alarm,
    we nearly always fit together like a two-piece charm.” The ‘two piece charm’ image really brings home your poem’s point. 🙂

    • Thanks, Melinda. I am really trying to “step it up,” so to speak.

  3. I can relate to this ode. Nicely done!

    • Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

