Posted by: Kathy | December 11, 2015

Freedom

Today’s assignment for Writing 101: Poetry asks us to write about freedom. “What freedom means is open to interpretation, which is why it’s been a recurring subject in art. In today’s poem, share your take on freedom.” There were so many ways I could take this, but I wrote about freedom through the eyes of Jade, my almost 2-year-old, nutty, lovable Lab-Malamute mix.

I wait at the back door,
the others crowding behind me.
Only the moving door
stands between me and freedom.

Here she comes, my Mommy.
Saying words I don’t understand.
Oh there’s one I know.
“Sit!”

I sit
like the pretty girl I am,
waiting for the others
to do the same.

The white one barks,
the little one squirms.
Come on, guys,
I really want to run.

Finally, Mom slides open the door.
I spring into action,
always the first one
into freedom.

A cool breeze
crosses my body,
my toes feel the grass
I run across.

My first job,
sniff the perimeter of the yard.
Have any strangers
walked through here?

Side fence, good.
Back fence, good,
but I jump up,
it’s great to be tall.

Oh no, Mom’s standing in the open door.
My freedom gone for now.
I race inside,
because now I get a treat.

My tribute to Jade:

Responses

  1. I loved your take on this prompt – very unique. And your dog looks like a sweetie!

    • Thank you. Yes, she is very sweet.

  2. First, your dog is gorgeous. Second, this was great! It’s interesting to see a poem written by the person giving Jade freedom; from Jade’s perspective. Some weird time shift going on. Hehehe. Really great.

    • Thank you. Jade is a rescue, sent to me from Mississippi to NJ. I picked her off a webpage and got so lucky. Not only is she beautiful, but she is the sweetest dog I’ve ever had. And funny too. I don’t know why I wrote this topic in this way, but it came to me last night as I watched Jade run across our backyard. She is as graceful as a gazelle, but then runs into a wall. Never a dull moment. Thanks for commenting.

      • Hehehehe. I can definitely understand. My best friends’ dogs are big dogs and they can run and leap like horses. And they are nice…except when they cause mayhem or get scared of, little things like shadows hehehe.

        • I call Jade a giraffe. Long legs she doesn’t know what to do with. I get kicked a lot…accidentally. She’s still thin enough to squeeze under our bed in times of peril. 😃

          • Hehehe. Silly Jade.

  3. What a sweet, sweet poem! Love the dog’s simple interpretation of freedom in it. But it brings a question to mind: Does one give up one’s freedom for the luxuries of safety and civilization?

    • Thank you. Jade is a sweet. sweet dog. Your question is an interesting one. Maybe we do give up certain freedoms for safety and civilization. I can think of a lot of areas where this may be true. Thanks for making me think :-).

  4. This is so cute! I love that we’re in the dog’s head and your presentation of freedom as something simple, exciting and joyful.

    • Thanks. As you know, I love my pets. Jade is my favorite and the most interesting. Even if she’s at the back of the “sitting line,” she always manages to get out the door first.:-)

      • I could picture that. You described that so well in your poem 🙂


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

