Posted by: Kathy | October 14, 2015

Carrot Soup and a Promise Kept

The writing assignment for day 8 of Writing 201: Poetry is flavor for the topic, elegy for the form (first person poem on loss), and enumeratio (use of lists) for the device. I think I covered all three in this poem, in bits and pieces, here and there. This poem is fitting for the overall topic of my blog – loss of a parent. It is about my mom, a promise I made to her when she was in the hospital for the last time, and how I’ve kept that promise through food.

Carrot Soup and a Promise Kept

You didn’t want me to be there,
you said I shouldn’t have come,
too busy for you I would never be,
we both knew the end was near.

I asked if you were scared,
but you didn’t show any fear
instead you told me your deepest regret
that death would bring to you.

It was then you asked for a promise,
something you wanted me to do,
a request I’ve tried to honor
since the day death stole your last breath.

Your memory I will keep alive,
that was your only request,
that my kids will remember their grandmom
and the deep love you had for them.

Traditions you started are now mine,
I promise they will never end,
and as I cook your many recipes,
all memories turn to you.

Carrot soup on Christmas day,
chocolate chip cake and pumpkin bread too,
each one made by my two hands
from handwritten recipes on notecards.

I’m not a great chef, baker, or cook,
but with your recipes I do try hard,
adding to all one special touch,
the love you had for all of us.

Responses

  1. The last two stanzas are a poem themselves. The images are clear; the feelings are more subtly expressed but authentic just the same. Economical, evocative verse. Thank you!

    • Thank you. What I said is so true and Christmas hasn’t been the same since my mom died. Appreciate you stopping by.

  2. That’s beautiful. you nailed the elegy. 🙂

  3. Hi.. I’v nominated you for the One Lovely Bloggers Award . Please check out my blog for instructions. https://jeanixangel01.wordpress.com/2015/10/14/7-facts-about-me-one-lovely-blog-award/ , 🙂

    • Thank you so much. It means a lot to me.

  4. You mom was clever, her recipes are surely a great way to keep her in her grandchildren memory. Your elegy is heartwarming and I can imagine, when you are turning your kitchen upside down how her memories make every dish better. A virtual hug for you on this particular day.

    • Thank you. I have 2 recipe boxes with recipes written in my mom’s writing and my grandmother’s writing. Both mean a lot to me. Of course these cards aren’t as clean as when I received the boxes. I am not neat when I cook, but the end result it worth it. Appreciate your comment and the hug.

      • Boxes to treasure forever, passing its way through the generations.

        • Yes, I need to make sure they survive my cooking.

          • lolol, jusy keep them at a safe distance.

  5. Loss of a loved one is so very very hard. I think loss of a mom, is deeply so.

    One thing I’ve thought about a lot, is that we literally carry our mom with us every single day of our lives, without even realizing it most of the time. We bear her mark. Funny as it sounds to say, the navel (our belly button) is the indelible physical mark of our connection to her. This is the outward sign of her unconditional love, from the moment we were born within her womb.

    Don’t mean to wax sentimental here – but is is so obvious through your blog that your love runs deep. And there it is….hand to belly……she’s there with you always….not only in your heart, but with you physically too.

    • I love what you wrote – it makes sense. Yes, love and loss run deep, and my blog has been my way of dealing with my mom’s death. Thanks for your reply!

  6. This is really good.A true elegy!!
    It’s an amzing thing that you are keeping the traditions alive…And honouring her last wish,even though it is very tough for you.I loved it.
    Have a good day ahead kathy:)

    • Thank you so much. It’s so ironic that today is the day I made that promise, but I don’t believe in coincidences. My heart is heavy with love and loss. I hope you have a good day too.

      • I hope you can overcome it…and her memories are reasons for you to smile,and the pain and longing for her comes to a manageable level soon!! 🙂

        • Her memories do make me smile, always. I remember the funny things she did. But this time of year is very hard for me – the days leading up to my mom’s death. Once we get to the new year things get easier again. My mom was such a presence in my life, something I didn’t realize until she was gone. A part of my heart will always miss her. Thanks for your comment!

          • It must be…know one can really know how u fee,other than you…God bless u!!:))

            • Thank you. May God bless you too.


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

