Posted by: Kathy | December 14, 2015

Ode to Nursery Rhymes

Today’s prompt for Writing 101: Poetry is Fallacy. The prompt says “Today, let’s write poems that are wholly illogical.” To me the nursery rhymes I know by heart are illogical, although cute and funny. I took them to another level in my sonnet filled with sweet delights as an ode to nursery rhymes.

Hey diddle diddle
the Swedish fish strummed a fudge fiddle,
as the gummy worm squiggled over the moon,
flicking his tail in time with the tune.

Humpty Dumpty bounced on a marshmallow,
sucking on a lollipop of blue, red, and yellow,
but he slipped, then fell, and let out a yell,
landing in black licorice well.

While pickles chips of mint and dill
glided down a caramel hill
in a boat of orange cotton candy,
stopping to talk to a giggling frog named Mandy.

And the bubbly laughter from the frog
echoed through a night of neon-green whipped cream fog. 


Responses

  1. Brilliant!

    • Thank you so much!

      • You’re welcome😊

  2. […] Ode to Nursery Rhymes – Kathy’s Blog […]

  3. light and fun, love your take on fallacy 🙂

    • Thank you. It felt good writing this one.

  4. I am seeing these rhymes for the first time and they sound sweet.

    • Thank you. The originals are sweet – my kids loved them. My dad and I used to recite one about the bear Fuzzy Wuzzy. A good memory.

      • Lovely, indeed. Children everywhere like rhymes.

        • I agree. In a way nursery rhymes can be the beginning of reading “poetry” to a child

          • That is right. They love the rhymes and through that develop love for reading.

  5. Hi. That was really innovative and cool.
    Linking nursery rhymes and fallacy is a great idea.

    • Thank you. It popped into my head and I went with it. 🙂

  6. Even the font colors were playful. Nice take! 🙂

    • Thanks so much.


Tell me what you're thinking:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories