Posted by: Kathy | May 27, 2012

‘Til Death Do Us Part

On June 19, 1965, my parents were married in a church in North Philadelphia. I’m sure the words “’till death do us part” were part of the vows they took on their wedding day. But even after my mom died, I still considered my parents to be married. It was like the love they had for one another was so strong, so real, that even death could not separate them.

Yesterday, my father said those vows again and was remarried. Don’t get me wrong, I am happy for him and happy that he has found someone to share his life with. I know this is what my mom would have wanted for him too. But it was hard to hold back the tears during the ceremony. When I heard those words “till death do us part” I realized that my mom was no longer my dad’s wife. The vows my parents had taken more than 40 years ago were no more. This realization, the finality of it all, hurt, and I couldn’t stop thinking about my mom.

My pastor has a way of explaining life in chapters. Yesterday, he said that my dad and his new wife are starting a new chapter in each of their lives. But during conversations we’ve had, he also told me that just because you turn the page and start a new chapter doesn’t mean that the previous ones aren’t there.

I wish my dad the best on this new chapter of his life. And I will always remember the many chapters of life he shared with my mom.

Responses

  1. congratulations to your dad for finding love all over again. And I salute you for standing by his side. I cannot imagine what you felt like during the ceremony. *hugs*


Tell me what you're thinking:

Categories

